Catholic Diocese of Pittsburgh
Advanced
      • All Saints (Etna)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        All Saints (Etna)
        19 Wilson Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15223-1798
        P: 412-781-0530 | F: 412-784-8769
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:00 PM 6:00 PM After the 5:00 p.m. Mass

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 6

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. James R. Gretz, Administrator
        Deacon Rosendo F. Dacal

        Parish History

        All Saints parish was founded in 1902 to serve the Catholic community of Etna. The first pastor was appointed in April 1902 and work began on a new church in the summer of 1902 on Wilson St. This first church, a frame building, was dedicated on August 3, 1902. Due to the growth of the congregation, the church building quickly became inadequate to meet the needs of the parish. Rather than tear down the church, however, the parish moved it to another part of its property and built a new church on the site of the old church. Groundbreaking began in September 1914 and the finished church was dedicated on December 19, 1915. This church continues to serve the pastoral needs of Etna Catholics.

        On September 17, 2004 flooding in Etna caused by tropical storm Ivan damaged the church. The flood waters damaged the floor and wiring of the building. The church was closed for six months for repair. During this time, Mass was celebrated in the parish activities building. The church reopened on March 19, 2005.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

         

      • Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Bellevue)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Bellevue)
        45 North Sprague Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15202-3196
        P: 412-766-6660 | F: 412-766-4836
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 7:45 PM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 10:30 AM to 11:30 AM After the 10:00 a.m. Mass 5:00 PM to 5:30 PM After the 4:00 p.m. Mass

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Assumption School, Bellevue (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. Dennis M. Buranosky, Pastor
        Rev. David W. Green, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        Assumption Church was founded in 1903.  The parish was founded to meet the needs of the growing suburban communities of Bellevue and Avalon.  Bishop Richard Phelan suggested the name of the new parish to commemorate the first log chapel built by the French in 1754 where the first Mass west of the Alleghenies was offered.  The first church was a rented former dance hall located above a stable on Lincoln Ave.  The first parish Mass was held here on September 13, 1903.  The disadvantages of holding services above a stable soon became apparent and work began on a new church on North Jackson Avenue in 1904.  The cornerstone was laid in August 1904 and the first Mass in the new church was celebrated on January 1, 1905.

        The parish continued to grow and the decision was made to open a school.  Rather than build a separate school building, the parish enlarged the existing church building to add six classrooms.  This construction took place in 1913 in time for the school to open in September of that year.

        The parish continued to grow and in 1924 land was purchased for a new church.  Ground for the church was broken on June 9, 1930.  The cornerstone was laid on August 17, 1930, and the building was dedicated on November 22, 1931.  Although the church was open for use by the congregation, the building was not completed according to the plans.  The church lacked its stained glass windows, organ, side altars, baptistry and some of the interior decorations.  These were not added to the church until the late 1940's.  With the building of a new church, the old church facilities were converted to classrooms.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First Assumption Church after it had been converted to a school, 1942
        Assumption Church, 2002
        Altar, 1978
        View of Interior from Altar, 1931
        Main altar of church, 1942
        Side altar and main altar, 1942
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Christ the King - Saint Anthony Church (Bessemer)
        Bessemer
        X
        Christ the King - Saint Anthony Church (Bessemer)
        411 W. Poland Avenue, Bessemer, PA, 16112
        Mailing: Box 23, Hillsville, PA, 16132
        P: 724-667-7721 | F: 724-667-0827
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English February, April, June, August, October and December only
        • Sun: 10:45 AM English English
        • Thu: 8:30 AM English English
        • Thu: 9:00 AM
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM February, April, June, August, October and December only

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Philip N. Farrell, Priest Director
        Deacon John J. Carran, Deacon Administrator

        Parish History

        Christ the King was established on June 30, 2000.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Anthony parish in Bessemer and St. Lawrence in Hillsville.  For over two years, the pastoral councils of both parishes studied the possibility of a merger.  This was a logical move since both parishes had shared one pastor since 1995.  After conducting parish surveys and completing the study, both parishes petitioned the bishop for permission to merge.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Anthony Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Anthony, 2002
        St. Lawrence Church, 2002
      • Christ the King - Saint Lawrence Church (Hillsville)
        Hillsville
        X
        Christ the King - Saint Lawrence Church (Hillsville)
        175 Martin Kelly Spear Road, Hillsville, PA, 16132
        Mailing: Box 23, Hillsville, PA, 16132
        P: 724-667-7721 | F: 724-667-0827
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English January, March, May, July, September and November only
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM January, March, May, July, September and November only

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Philip N. Farrell, Priest Director
        Deacon John J. Carran, Deacon Administrator

        Parish History

        Christ the King was established on June 30, 2000.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Anthony parish in Bessemer and St. Lawrence in Hillsville.  For over two years, the pastoral councils of both parishes studied the possibility of a merger.  This was a logical move since both parishes had shared one pastor since 1995.  After conducting parish surveys and completing the study, both parishes petitioned the bishop for permission to merge.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Anthony Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Anthony, 2002
        St. Lawrence Church, 2002
      • Christ the Light of the World - Holy Name Church (Duquesne)
        Duquesne
        X
        Christ the Light of the World - Holy Name Church (Duquesne)
        32 South 1st Street, Duquesne, PA, 15110-1137
        P: 412-469-0196 | F: 412-466-6845
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English Holy Name Church
        • Sun: 11:30 AM English English Holy Name Church
        • TuTh 12:00 PM English English Holy Name Church
        • Fri: 8:00 AM English English Holy Name Church
        • Sat: 5:00 PM to 5:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 6

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas J. Lewandowski, Pastor

        Parish History

        Christ the Light of the World was established on February 12, 1994, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by merging St. Hedwig and Holy Name parishes.  Both churches remain open and serve the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archives:

        Holy Name Church, 2002
        St. Hedwig Church, 2002
      • Christ the Light of the World - Saint Hedwig Church (Duquesne)
        Duquesne
        X
        Christ the Light of the World - Saint Hedwig Church (Duquesne)
        105 South 5th Street, Duquesne, PA, 15110
        Mailing: 32 South 1st Street, Duquesne, PA, 15110
        P: 412-469-0196 | F: 412-466-6845
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English May-August only

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 6

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas J. Lewandowski, Pastor

        Parish History

        Christ the Light of the World was established on February 12, 1994, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by merging St. Hedwig and Holy Name parishes.  Both churches remain open and serve the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Name Church, 2002
        St. Hedwig Church, 2002
      • Corpus Christi (McKeesport)
        McKeesport
        X
        Corpus Christi (McKeesport)
        2515 Versailles Avenue, McKeesport, PA, 15132-2040
        P: 412-672-0765 | F: 412-672-2220
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Mary of Nazareth Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Steven M. Palsa, Administrator

        Parish History

        Corpus Christi Parish, McKeesport was established on November 14, 2010 through the merger of the three existing parishes in McKeesport, St. Martin de Porres, St. Mary Czestochowa and St. Pius V.  All three parishes had faced dwindling congregations.  St. Mary Czestochowa was down to approximately 400 families, St. Pius V down to approximately 500 families and St. Martin de Porres with approximately 1,100 families.   All three parishes faced buildings with high costs for insurance, utilities and maintenance.  St. Pius V Church was so badly damaged in a February 2010 snowstorm that the building was officially closed in August of 2010.  Of the three churches, only St. Mary Czestochowa remained open and was renamed Corpus Christi.  St. Pius V was sold and St. Martin de Porres was razed. After the merger, the parish made renovations to the church, including new heating and air conditioning, expanding the parking lot and making the new facility more handicapped accessible.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Corpus Christi Church, the former St. Mary Czestochowa Church, 2002
      • Epiphany (Uptown)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Epiphany (Uptown)
        164 Washington Place, Pittsburgh, PA, 15219-4438
        P: 412-471-0654 | F: 412-471-1345
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 5:00 PM English English
        • MF 12:05 PM English English
        • W F 7:00 AM English English
        • M F 11:15 AM to 11:45 AM
        • Sat: 5:15 PM to 5:45 PM
        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Mark L. Eckman, Administrator
        Rev. Michael Roche, In Residence
        Rev. Thomas M. O'Donnell, In Residence

        Parish History

        Epiphany parish was founded in 1902. The creation of the parish was the direct result of the decision in 1901 to move St. Paul Cathedral from downtown to Oakland. Epiphany parish was created to serve the Catholic congregation that had formerly been served by St. Paul. Construction began in 1902 on a church, a school and a residence.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on August 10, 1902, and the basement portion of the church was dedicated on August 2, 1903. The parish used this basement chapel while work continued on the superstructure of the building.  The school was completed on April 1, 1903 and occupied on April 27, 1903.  From 1903 to 1906, Epiphany served as the diocesan cathedral while St. Paul was being built.

         In 1906 all services were transferred from the basement chapel to the upstairs church and on July 3, 1910, the completed church was blessed.

         One of the innovations of the new parish was the Printers’ Mass.  At the time the parish was established, the city had seven newspapers and the staff putting out the paper did not finish the Sunday edition until 2:00 a.m. Sunday.  Rather than wait until 6:00 a.m. to attend the first regular Mass at Epiphany, they requested a Mass at 2:30 a.m. to which they could go directly from work.  At that time, special permission to celebrate Mass at that time had to be obtained from the Pope.  This permission was obtained and beginning on April 30, 1905, a Mass was celebrated at 2:30 a.m.  This Printers’ Mass was fixture of the parish for many decades, but with the Second Vatican Council permitting Saturday and Sunday evening Masses, the need for this service dwindled as did the attendance.  The last Printers’ Mass was celebrated on May 12, 1991.

         Within the boundaries of the parish lay the Allegheny County Jail.  To minister to the needs of the Catholic inmates, the pastor of Epiphany sought permission to offer Sunday Mass at the jail beginning on Easter Sunday of 1928.  This tradition continued for over 50 years until a chaplain was assigned to the jail.

         On April 24, 1937, fire struck the church, causing extensive damage to the sacristy.  Luckily the building itself survived the fire and was repaired and repainted.  Unfortunately, the Mass vestments, which had been brought from Rome by Bishop Michael O’Connor, the first bishop of the diocese, were destroyed in the blaze.  The church was renovated in 1953, the 1960’s and around the turn of the century.  In 1959, the parish lost its pastor Rev. Lawrence O’Connell, who had served in that capacity since the parish was established in 1902.

         The parish was also a victim of urban renewal in the late 1950’s and early 1960’s.  Approximately 1,800 families were relocated to make room for the Civic Arena and Chatham Center.  The parish dropped from 1,000 families to 350.  The parish did, however, absorb the remaining members of nearby St. Peter Church, which was razed as part of this urban renewal plan.  One of the unintended results of this civic action was the eventual loss of Epiphany school, which closed in 1973.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Epiphany, 1990
        Interior of Epiphany, 1990
      • Good Samaritan (Ambridge)
        Ambridge
        X
        Good Samaritan (Ambridge)
        725 Glenwood Avenue, Ambridge, PA, 15003-2448
        P: 724-266-6565 | F: 724-266-5570
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M Tu Th 8:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:30 PM English English
        • Wed: 6:00 PM to 6:20 PM
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. Joseph A. Carr, Pastor

        Parish History

        Good Samaritan was established on July 2, 1994.  The parish was formed by the merger of the five parishes then existing in Ambridge:  Christ the King, Divine Redeemer, Holy Trinity, St. Stanislaus and St. Veronica.  Of the five churches, Divine Redeemer was closed and later sold.  At first the other four churches remained open.  However, as the decade progressed, it became obvious that the congregation could not support four church buildings.  In 2001, the parish began a three year study to determine how many of the churches the parish should retain.  The study showed that only St. Veronica Church should remain open.  The final Mass of Holy Trinity Church was celebrated on November 7, 2004.  The final Mass of St. Stanislaus was celebrated on November 14, 2004 and the final Mass of Christ the King was celebrated on November 21, 2004.  On December 11, 2004, St. Veronica Church was renamed and dedicated as Good Samaritan Church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Good Samaritan Church, 2002
      • Good Shepherd - Good Shepherd Church (Braddock)
        Braddock
        X
        Good Shepherd - Good Shepherd Church (Braddock)
        1101 Braddock Avenue, Braddock, PA, 15104
        Mailing: 1024 Maple Way, Braddock, PA, 15104
        P: 412-271-1515 | F: 412-271-1222
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        East Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Albert J. Semler, Pastor
        Deacon Joseph M. Dougherty

        Parish History

        Good Shepherd was inaugurated on April 27, 1985.  The parish was formed by the merger of the then six existing parishes in Braddock: St. Brendan (Irish), St. Isidore (Lithuanian), St. Joseph (German), St. Mary of Mount Carmel (Italian), St. Michael (Slovak) and St. Thomas (Irish).  The merger was the product of the slow erosion of population in the area in the middle and later part of the twentieth century.  The immediate impetus for the creation of the parish was the decline of the manufacturing industry in the Mid-Mon Valley and the destruction by fire of St. Thomas Church on December 30, 1983.  Rather than automatically rebuild St. Thomas, the diocese decided to conduct a study of economic and population trends in Braddock.  This study led to the decision to consolidate all of the parishes in Braddock into one new parish, Good Shepherd.  St. Michael Church was completely renovated and became Good Shepherd Church. The former Sacred Heart (Polish) Parish in Braddock Hills became part of the Good Shepherd Parish family on April 25, 2005. Good Shepherd Church and Sacred Heart Church are the two buidlings where Masses are currently celebrated.

        Unfortunately, the population loss did not stop but continued into the next century.  By 2014, the parish was down to 1,398 registered members.  The nearby parish of Holy Cross in East Pittsburgh suffered even more severe losses and was down to 346 registered members.  In consultation with the financial and parish councils of both parishes, the diocese decided to merge Holy Cross parish into Good Shepherd Parish effective April 28, 2014.  The parish retained the name Good Shepherd and retained its church buildings.  The two church buildings of Holy Cross, St. Helen and St. William were officially closed the same day,

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Good Shepherd Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Good Shepherd - Sacred Heart Church (Braddock Hills)
        Braddock Hills
        X
        Good Shepherd - Sacred Heart Church (Braddock Hills)
        1600 Brinton Road, Braddock Hills, PA, 15221
        Mailing: 1024 Maple Way, Braddock, PA, 15104
        P: 412-271-1515 | F: 412-271-1222
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • MTh 9:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        East Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Albert J. Semler, Pastor
        Deacon Joseph M. Dougherty
         

        Parish History

        Good Shepherd was inaugurated on April 27, 1985.  The parish was formed by the merger of the then six existing parishes in Braddock: St. Brendan (Irish), St. Isidore (Lithuanian), St. Joseph (German), St. Mary of Mount Carmel (Italian), St. Michael (Slovak) and St. Thomas (Irish).  The merger was the product of the slow erosion of population in the area in the middle and later part of the twentieth century.  The immediate impetus for the creation of the parish was the decline of the manufacturing industry in the Mid-Mon Valley and the destruction by fire of St. Thomas Church on December 30, 1983.  Rather than automatically rebuild St. Thomas, the diocese decided to conduct a study of economic and population trends in Braddock.  This study led to the decision to consolidate all of the parishes in Braddock into one new parish, Good Shepherd.  St. Michael Church was completely renovated and became Good Shepherd Church. The former Sacred Heart (Polish) Parish in Braddock Hills became part of the Good Shepherd Parish family on April 25, 2005. Good Shepherd Church and Sacred Heart Church are the two buidlings where Masses are currently celebrated.

        Unfortunately, the population loss did not stop but continued into the next century.  By 2014, the parish was down to 1,398 registered members.  The nearby parish of Holy Cross in East Pittsburgh suffered even more severe losses and was down to 346 registered members.  In consultation with the financial and parish councils of both parishes, the diocese decided to merge Holy Cross parish into Good Shepherd Parish effective April 28, 2014.  The parish retained the name Good Shepherd and retained its church buildings.  The two church buildings of Holy Cross, St. Helen and St. William were officially closed the same day,

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Good Shepherd Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Holy Angels (Hays)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Angels (Hays)
        408 Baldwin Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15207-1923
        P: 412-461-6906 | F: 412-461-0961
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 6:30 AM English English 8:00 AM English English 9:15 AM English English 10:30 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 5:30 PM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • 1st Fri: 8:30 AM Begins after morning Mass
        • Sat: 5:15 PM to 5:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert J. Ahlin, Pastor
        Deacon Daniel E. Nizan

        Parish History

        Holy Angels was established in 1903.  Before the parish was formed, the area was part of Holy Cross parish in the South Side, although some local Catholics chose to travel to St. Mary Magdalene for Mass.  In 1902, the pastor of Holy Cross held a meeting in Hays to make plans for a new parish.  The plans for the parish were submitted to the bishop who approved them.  On October 24, 1902, a house was purchased to serve as a rectory with sufficient land for the building of a church.  On January 11, 1903, the first Mass in the parish was celebrated in the rectory.  On April 9, 1903, the first pastor of the new parish was appointed.

        That spring work began on the church.  The church was dedicated on October 25, 1903.  The church originally had a wooden foundation.  By 1918, the building was noticeably sinking.  The church was raised and the foundation was replaced and a hall constructed beneath the building.  The interior of the church was completely renovated in 1945, including the installation of a new altar.  Stained glass windows were added in 1947. 

        In the late 1960's the parish considered building a new church.  After studying the pros and cons of a new church, the parish decided in 1970 against new construction.  Instead, the existing church was repaired and renovated.  Over the next few years, the church was completely renovated including replacement of the pews, enlarging the Sacristy and adding new stations of the cross.

        The church that was built in 1903 as a temporary structure, still stands and serves the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Angels Church, 2002
      • Holy Apostles - Saint Albert the Great Church (Baldwin)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Apostles - Saint Albert the Great Church (Baldwin)
        3198 Schieck Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15227
        P: 412-884-7744 | F: 412-884-2300
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:30 AM English English
        • M W F 9:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. Stephen A. Kresak, Administrator
        Rev. Levi R. Hartle, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Michael J. Babcock
        Deacon Timothy Zenchak
        Deacon James Grab
      • Holy Apostles - Saint Basil Church (Carrick)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Apostles - Saint Basil Church (Carrick)
        1735 Brownsville Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15210
        Mailing: 3198 Schieck Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15227
        P: 412-884-7744 | F: 412-884-2300
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:30 AM English English
        • Tu Th Sa 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM St. Basil Church

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. Stephen A. Kresak, Administrator
        Rev. Levi R. Hartle, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Michael J. Babcock
        Deacon Timothy Zenchak
        Deacon James Grab
      • Holy Apostles - Saint Norbert Church (Overbrook)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Apostles - Saint Norbert Church (Overbrook)
        2413 Saint Norbert Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15234
        Mailing: 3198 Schieck Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15227
        P: 412-884-7744 | F: 412-884-2300
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • Tue: 9:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. Stephen A. Kresak, Administrator
        Rev. Levi R. Hartle, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Michael J. Babcock
        Deacon Timothy Zenchak
        Deacon James Grab
      • Holy Apostles - Saint Wendelin Church (Carrick)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Apostles - Saint Wendelin Church (Carrick)
        2728 Custer Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15227
        Mailing: 3198 Schieck Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15227
        P: 412-884-7744 | F: 412-884-2300
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English
        • W F 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. Stephen A. Kresak, Administrator
        Rev. Levi R. Hartle, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Michael J. Babcock
        Deacon Timothy Zenchak
        Deacon James Grab
      • Holy Child (Bridgeville)
        Bridgeville
        X
        Holy Child (Bridgeville)
        212 Station Street, Bridgeville, PA, 15017-1807
        P: 412-221-5213 | F: 412-257-2461
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English 5:30 PM English English
        • MF 12:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Dennis P. Yurochko, Administrator
        Rev. Joseph M. Freedy, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Brian M. Podobnik

        Parish History

        Holy Child was established in 1994 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization project.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Agatha and St. Anthony parishes.  At first, both churches remained open and continued to serve the new parish.  However, by the turn of the century, it became obvious that the parish could no longer support two church buildings.  On September 8, 2007, the parish closed St. Anthony Church and renamed St. Agatha Church as Holy Child.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Child Church, the former St. Agatha Church, 2002
        Interior of Holy Child Church, the former St. Agatha, 2002
      • Holy Family (Creighton)
        Creighton
        X
        Holy Family (Creighton)
        787 Freeport Road, Creighton, PA, 15030-1098
        P: 724-224-1626 | F: 724-224-0609
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • Tu Th 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 6:30 PM after Mass

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas L. Gillespie, Pastor

        Parish History

        Holy Family parish was founded in 1949.  The beginning of the parish can be traced back to 1942, when a group of local Catholics began exploring the possibility of building a local church.  Working closely with the pastor of St. Clement parish, Tarentum, the group received permission from the diocese to collect money for a Mission Chapel in July 1944.  Sufficient funds were collected in July to enable the purchase of a barn on Crawford Run Road.  After extensive renovation, the Mission Chapel was opened on December 24, 1947.

        Until 1949, the unnamed chapel continued to be a mission of St. Clement.  This era of the parish ended on March 26, 1949, when the new parish of Holy Family was officially established.  During the 1950's, additional renovations were made to the building.  However, by the end of the decade, it became obvious that a larger structure was needed.  On July 10, 1960, ground breaking for a new church took place.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid on January 8, 1961.  The last Mass in the old church was celebrated on March 29, 1961 and on July 8, 1961, the new church was dedicated.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First Church, 1950
        Current church, 1974
        Altar of current church, 1974
      • Holy Family (New Brighton)
        New Brighton
        X
        Holy Family (New Brighton)
        521 7th Avenue, New Brighton, PA, 15066
        Mailing: 1851 3rd Avenue, New Brighton, PA, 15066
        P: 724-847-3538 | F: 724-847-3585
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:00 PM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas E. Kredel, Pastor

        Parish History

        Holy Family parish was established in 1994.  It was formed by the merger of  Ss. Cyril and Methodius parish with St. Joseph parish.  Originally, the parish kept both churches open, but in June of 1999  Ss. Cyril and Methodius Church was closed and renovated into a parish hall.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Family Church, formerly St. Joseph Church, 2002
      • Holy Martyrs (Tarentum)
        Tarentum
        X
        Holy Martyrs (Tarentum)
        353 West 9th Avenue, Tarentum, PA, 15084-1243
        P: 724-224-0770 | F: 724-224-7070
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas L. Gillespie, Pastor

        Parish History

        Holy Martyrs was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  It was formed by merging the two parishes in Tarentum, St. Clement and Sacred Heart-St. Peter.  Both churches initially remained open as part of the new parish.  However, after the turn of the century, the parish decided it no longer had the resources to support two churches.  In 2006, St. Clement church was sold and Sacred Heart-St. Peter church was renamed Holy Martyrs Church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Sacred Heart-St. Peter Church, 2002
        Interior of Sacred Heart-St. Peter, 2002
        St. Clement Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Clement, 2002
      • Holy Redeemer (Ellwood City)
        Ellwood City
        X
        Holy Redeemer (Ellwood City)
        415 4th Street, Ellwood City, PA, 16117
        Mailing: 300 Crescent Avenue, Suite 1, Ellwood City, PA, 16117
        P: 724-758-4411 | F: 724-752-1466
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • MF 7:00 AM English English
        • MSa 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:30 PM
        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Mark L. Thomas, Pastor
        Rev. Joseph J. Dascenzo, In Residence

        Parish History

        Holy Redeemer parish was established on February 5, 2000.  The parish was formed by the merger of the then two existing parishes in Ellwood City, St. Agatha and Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  The merger was the result of a study begun in July 1998 by a committee consisting of members of both parishes.  The study looked at the parishes' ministries, demographics, finances, worship and buildings.  The study concluded that the declining population and shrinking economy meant that Ellwood City could no longer support two independent parishes.  Since both parishes already shared priests and several ministries, a merger of the two parishes was the logical next step.  This merger took place on September 5, 2000.

        At first, both churches remained open and served the new parish.  It soon became obvious, however, that the parish could not support two churches.  On September 8, 2007, St. Agatha was officially closed and Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary was renamed Holy Redeemer.

        An additional change to the parish happened in 2011.  On April 1, 2011, a fire struck Queen of Heaven Church, Koppel.  Before repairing the church building, the diocese conducted a study to determine the needs and resources of the local Catholic community to determine if the church should be repaired.  Based on the study, the diocese decided to merge Queen of Heaven Parish into Holy Redeemer Parish.  The merger took place on November 26, 2011.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Redeemer, the former Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church, 2002
      • Holy Rosary (Muse)
        Muse
        X
        Holy Rosary (Muse)
        1 Orchard Street, Muse, PA, 15350-0447
        Mailing: PO Box 447, Muse, PA, 15350-0447
        P: 724-745-3531 | F: 724-745-0669
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. George T. DeVille, Administrator

        Parish History

        Holy Rosary parish was established in 1963.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to November of 1923 when a priest from St. Mary, Cecil, celebrated Mass in a school house.  In November of 1925, the celebration of Mass was moved to the community building.  On October 24, 1946, a building was purchased to serve as a church.  On May 20, 1963, Holy Rosary lost its mission status when it was made an independent parish with a resident pastor.

        In 1972, a new church was built.  In 1988, the tower was added to the church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Rosary Church, 2001
      • Holy Sepulcher (Butler)
        Butler
        X
        Holy Sepulcher (Butler)
        1304 East Cruikshank Road, Butler, PA, 16002-8920
        P: 724-586-7610 | F: 724-586-7247
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:30 AM English English
        • M Tu Th 7:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Fri: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM 7:00 PM after Mass

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Holy Sepulcher School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert J. Cedolia, Pastor
        Deacon David S. Miller
        Deacon Jim Mickens

        Parish History

        Holy Sepulcher was established in 1955.  However, the origin of the parish can be traced back to 1944.  On Christmas Day of 1944, the first Mass in Glade Mills was celebrated by a priest of the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD).  The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who lacked access to an existing church.  This first Mass was celebrated in the back room of an inn. 

        Land for a church was purchased in December of 1945 and construction of a church began in February of 1946.  Initially, only the basement of the building was to be constructed and used as a church and a social hall.  A superstructure was planned for a later date.  The cornerstone of the building was laid on November 17, 1946, and the completed basement church was dedicated on November 24, 1946.   

        Holy Sepulcher remained a mission of the MCCD until 1953, when responsibility for the parish was assigned to St. Matthias, Evans City.  In that year, the social hall was removed from the church building and the entire space used as a church.  On June 15, 1955, the parish was formally established and a resident pastor assigned.  In 1960, the plans for adding a superstructure to the church were abandoned and a roof was added to the structure.  The church was renovated in the 1960's and the 1970's.  

        As the century progressed, however, the population of the area continued to grow.  By the end of the century, it became obvious that the church could no longer accommodate the congregation.  Fund raising for a new church began in December of 2000.  Ground for the new church was broken on May 23, 2004.  The last Mass in the original church was celebrated at 9:00 am on July 31, 2005 and the new church was dedicated late that same day.  The old church was later converted to a parish hall.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The first Holy Sepulcher Church, 2002
        Interior of the first church, 2002
      • Holy Spirit (Millvale)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Spirit (Millvale)
        608 Farragut Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15209-2518
        P: 412-821-4424 | F: 412-253-4732
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English
        • M Tu F 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. James K. Mazurek, Administrator
        Deacon Stephen J. Kisak

        Parish History

        Holy Spirit was established in 1994 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Ann and St. Anthony parishes in Millvale.  Initially, the parish kept both churches open, but closed St. Ann Church in February of 1998.  St. Ann was sold shortly afterwards.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Spirit Church (formerly St. Anthony Church), 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Holy Spirit (West Mifflin)
        West Mifflin
        X
        Holy Spirit (West Mifflin)
        2603 Old Elizabeth Road, West Mifflin, PA, 15122-2558
        P: 412-346-0477 | F: 412-466-4983
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English Memorial Day-Labor Day 11:00 AM English English Labor Day-Memorial Day
        • MF 8:30 AM English English in the Oratory
        • 1st Sat: 8:30 AM English English in the Oratory
        • Sat: 10:15 AM to 11:15 AM in the Oratory

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Patrick C. Barkey, Administrator

        Parish History

        Holy Spirit was established on May 20, 1963, to serve the growing community of West Mifflin.  The first Mass celebrated in the parish occurred on May 23 in a hangar at the County Airport.  Beginning in June, Mass was celebrated in a union hall, which was used until the church could be built.  Ground for the new church was broken on December 13, 1964.  The cornerstone was laid on August 15, 1965.  On January 30, 1966, the first Mass was celebrated in the new church and the building was dedicated on July 10, 1966.  In 1983, the stained glass windows were installed.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Spirit Church, 2002
      • Holy Trinity (Robinson Township)
        McKees Rocks
        X
        Holy Trinity (Robinson Township)
        5718 Steubenville Pike, McKees Rocks, PA, 15136-1311
        P: 412-787-2140 | F: 412-787-3799
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 7:00 PM English English
        • MSa 8:15 AM English English
        • Thu: 6:30 PM English English
        • 1st Fri: 7:00 PM English English
        • Thu: 7:15 PM to 8:00 PM
        • Sat: 11:30 AM to 12:00 PM 4:00 PM to 4:45 PM
        • Thu: 7:00 PM to 8:30 PM
        • 1st Fri: 12:00 AM 24 hours of Adoration

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Holy Trinity School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Kenneth R. Keene, Pastor
        Rev. Kenneth Sparks, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Robert Hermann, In Residence
        Deacon Tim M. Killmeyer

        Parish History

        Holy Trinity was established on December 7, 1944.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to 1906, when a group of residents in Moon Run formally petitioned the bishop for a new parish.  The bishop determined that there were not enough Catholics in the area to support a parish.  However, in 1908, a mission of St. Columbkille Parish, Imperial was established in Moon Run.  Work began on a church and the first Mass in the parish was celebrated in the basement of the church on August 19, 1908.  Work continued on the superstructure of the church and the completed building was dedicated on May 30, 1919.

        Over the next 36 years, the population of Robinson Township grew slowly.  By 1944, the diocese decided that the population had grown enough to support an independent parish.  The parish was established and a resident pastor was assigned. 

        After World War II, construction of the Parkway West and the Greater Pittsburgh International Airport led to a rapid rise of population.  By 1951, the parish began to outgrow its church.  The parish purchased land for a larger parish plant in April of 1951.  Construction of a school building that would include a temporary church began in 1952.  The completed church/school building was dedicated on June 20, 1954.  The old church was converted to a parish hall but was then sold in 1959

        On August 9, 1964, ground was broken for the permanent church.  On August 27, 1966, the first Mass was celebrated in the new church.  However, the building was not formally dedicated until May 14, 1967.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First Holy Trinity Church, 1932
        Holy Trinity Church, 2002
        Altar of Holy Trinity, 2002
      • Holy Trinity (West Mifflin)
        West Mifflin
        X
        Holy Trinity (West Mifflin)
        529 Grant Avenue Extension, West Mifflin, PA, 15122-3898
        P: 412-466-6545 | F: 412-466-6968
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • M W Sa 8:00 AM English English
        • Fri: 8:00 AM English English June, July and August only
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 3:45 PM
        412-466-9257

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas J. Lewandowski, Administrator

        Parish History

        Holy Trinity was founded as a Slovak parish in 1901.  Before that year, the Slovak immigrants who had moved to the Duquesne/West Mifflin area to work in the mills traveled to either Braddock or McKeesport to attend Mass.  To avoid this inconvenience, local Slovaks purchased property on First Street and built a frame church in 1901.  Soon afterwards, work began on a new brick church.  The cornerstone was laid on October 16, 1904 and the completed church was dedicated on September 29, 1907.  In 1908, the old frame church was converted to a school and used as such until 1925.

        This church served the congregation until the 1960's.  By that time, the church building needed major repairs.  In addition, the reforms of Vatican II made it necessary to make major renovations to the building.  Rather than try to repair the existing church, it was decided to build a new church.  Ground for the new church was broken on April 7, 1968, and the cornerstone was laid on August 24, 1969.  The church was dedicated on April 25, 1970, and continues to serve the community to this day.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Holy Trinity, 1907-1968
        Altar, 1938
        Holy Trinity, 2002
        Interior of Holy Trinity, 2002
      • Holy Wisdom - Saint Ambrose Church (Spring Hill)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Wisdom - Saint Ambrose Church (Spring Hill)
        1015 Haslage Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212-3429
        Mailing: 1025 Haslage Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        P: 412-231-1116 | F: 412-231-1072
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

         

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Lawrence A. DiNardo, Pastor
        Rev. Louis L. DeNinno, In Residence

        Parish History

        Holy Wisdom was established in 1994 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  It was formed by merging St. Ambrose and St. Boniface parishes.  Both churches remain open and serve the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ambrose Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Ambrose, 2002
        St. Boniface Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Boniface, 2002
      • Holy Wisdom - Saint Boniface Church (North Side)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Holy Wisdom - Saint Boniface Church (North Side)
        2208 East Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        Mailing: 1025 Haslage Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        P: 412-231-1116 | F: 412-231-1072
        • Sat: 6:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 5:45 PM to 6:15 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

         

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Lawrence A. DiNardo, Pastor
        Rev. Louis L. DeNinno, In Residence

        Parish History

        Holy Wisdom was established in 1994 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  It was formed by merging St. Ambrose and St. Boniface parishes.  Both churches remain open and serve the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ambrose Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Ambrose, 2002
        St. Boniface Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Boniface, 2002
      • Immaculate Conception - Immaculate Conception Church (Washington)
        Washington
        X
        Immaculate Conception - Immaculate Conception Church (Washington)
        119 West Chestnut Street, Washington, PA, 15301-4422
        P: 724-225-1425 | F: 724-229-7946
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:30 AM English English 12:15 PM English English
        • MF 6:30 AM English English 8:15 AM English English 12:10 PM English English
        • Sat: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 9:30 AM 4:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        John F. Kennedy Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. William P. Feeney, Pastor
        Rev. Daniel R. Waruszewski, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. George F. Chortos, In Residence
        Deacon Jeffrey A. Hirst
        Deacon Barry A. Krofcheck

        Parish History

        Immaculate Conception was founded in 1855.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to 1831 when the first Mass was celebrated in the community.  For the next three years, the community was periodically visited by a nearby priest.  In 1834 the bishop in Philadelphia made Washington a mission station of St. Peter in Brownsville.  When St. James, West Alexander received a resident pastor in 1852, responsibility for Washington was transferred to that parish.  Shortly after this, work began on a church in Washington.

        The church was completed and dedicated on August 26, 1855.  The pastor of St. James then took residence in Washington and St. James became a mission of Immaculate Conception.  The church was damaged by a fire in 1885.  The building was repaired and continued to be used by the parish for another 7 years.  The rising population made a larger church necessary.  This new church was dedicated in 1892.

        This church, in turn, was damaged in a fire in 1924.  While the church was being repaired, Mass was celebrated in the school auditorium.  Although the church was repaired and the parish resumed services in it, the continually growing size of the congregation made a new church necessary.  Construction of the new church began in 1929 and the completed building was dedicated on September 1, 1930.  The old church was sold on October 1, 1946.  The stained glass windows of the church were installed in 1961.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second Immaculate Conception Church, 1931
        Immaculate Conception Church, 2002
      • Immaculate Conception - Sacred Heart Church (Claysville)
        Claysville
        X
        Immaculate Conception - Sacred Heart Church (Claysville)
        Main Street, Claysville, PA, 15323
        Mailing: 119 West Chestnut Street, Washington, PA, 15301
        P: 724-225-1425 | F: 724-229-7946
        • Sun: 10:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        John F. Kennedy Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. William P. Feeney, Pastor
        Rev. Daniel R. Waruszewski, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. George F. Chortos, In Residence
        Deacon Jeffrey A. Hirst
        Deacon Barry A. Krofcheck

        Parish History

        Immaculate Conception was founded in 1855.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to 1831 when the first Mass was celebrated in the community.  For the next three years, the community was periodically visited by a nearby priest.  In 1834 the bishop in Philadelphia made Washington a mission station of St. Peter in Brownsville.  When St. James, West Alexander received a resident pastor in 1852, responsibility for Washington was transferred to that parish.  Shortly after this, work began on a church in Washington.

        The church was completed and dedicated on August 26, 1855.  The pastor of St. James then took residence in Washington and St. James became a mission of Immaculate Conception.  The church was damaged by a fire in 1885.  The building was repaired and continued to be used by the parish for another 7 years.  The rising population made a larger church necessary.  This new church was dedicated in 1892.

        This church, in turn, was damaged in a fire in 1924.  While the church was being repaired, Mass was celebrated in the school auditorium.  Although the church was repaired and the parish resumed services in it, the continually growing size of the congregation made a new church necessary.  Construction of the new church began in 1929 and the completed building was dedicated on September 1, 1930.  The old church was sold on October 1, 1946.  The stained glass windows of the church were installed in 1961.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second Immaculate Conception Church, 1931
        Immaculate Conception Church, 2002
      • Immaculate Heart of Mary (Polish Hill)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Immaculate Heart of Mary (Polish Hill)
        3058 Brereton Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15219-3706
        P: 412-621-5170 | F: 412-621-7445
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM Polish Polski 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. Mark A. Thomas, Administrator

        Parish History

        Immaculate Heart of Mary was founded in 1897 as a Polish ethnic parish.  Beginning in 1885, Polish immigrants began settling on Herron Hill in Pittsburgh.  Eventually so many immigrants settled there that the area was renamed Polish Hill.  At first the residents attended St. Stanislaus parish in the Strip District, but by 1895, the population of Polish Hill grew to the point that a committee of local citizens petitioned the bishop for their own parish.  Permission was granted and the cornerstone of a combined church, school and convent was laid in October of 1896.  The completed building was dedicated on September 5, 1897.

        The first floor of the building served as a school and the second floor served as the church.  In 1899 the parish purchased land for a larger church.  The cornerstone was laid on July 31, 1904 and the completed church was dedicated on December 3, 1905.  This church was modeled on St. Peter's Basilica in Rome.  This church still serves the community of Polish Hill today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Immaculate Heart of Mary, 1972
        Altar, circa 1994
      • Incarnation of the Lord (Observatory Hill/Perry North)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Incarnation of the Lord (Observatory Hill/Perry North)
        4071 Franklin Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15214-1616
        P: 412-931-2911 | F: 412-931-2832
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • Tu Th 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. David D. DeWitt, Pastor
        Deacon Robert E. Koslosky

        Parish History

        Incarnation of the Lord parish was established on May 30, 1993, as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization.  The parish was formed by the merger of Annunciation and Nativity parishes.  At first, the parish kept both Annunciation and Nativity church buildings open.  However, the parish population continued to drop and in January 2001, the parishioners voted overwhelmingly to close the Annunciation church building.  The last Mass at Annunciation took place on June 10. 2001.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Incarnation of the Lord Church (former Nativity Church), 2001
        Interior of Incarnation of the Lord Church , 2001
      • Madonna del Castello (Swissvale)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Madonna del Castello (Swissvale)
        2021 South Braddock Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15218-2124
        P: 412-271-5666 | F: 412-271-2335
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • Mon: 7:00 PM English English
        • W F 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        East Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Michael John Lynam, Pastor
        Deacon Ronald D. Demblowski
        Deacon Keith G. Kondrich

        Parish History

        Madonna del Castello was established as an Italian parish in 1920.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to the arrival of Italian immigrants to Rankin, beginning in 1884.  In 1903, an Italian priest began a mission in Rankin.  However, soon afterwards he purchased a church in Braddock and established a parish there.  The Italians in Rankin then traveled to Braddock to attend Mass.  Over the years, the Italian population continued to grow and more Italians began moving from Rankin to Swissvale. 

        In 1920, a priest was sent to Rankin to organize a parish.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on April 5, 1920, in the McKinley Club Hall.  The Hall served as a temporary church until a church could be built.  However, there was a delay in the building of the church caused by the fact that part of the congregation lived in Rankin and part lived in Swissvale.  In 1921, the bishop sent a committee to study the two possible sites.  On July 16, 1921, the committee recommended that the church be built in Swissvale.  Until this time, the parish was unnamed.  Several names were proposed by parishioners and on September 7, 1921, the bishop approved the name of Madonna del Castello.  Work on the church began shortly afterwards.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on December 3, 1922, and the completed church was dedicated on August 5, 1923.

        The church served the parish for forty years.  Eventually, however, the congregation outgrew the existing building.  On November 26, 1964, ground was broken for a new building that combined a church, administration building and classrooms.  The cornerstone was laid on October 10, 1965, and the first Mass was celebrated on July 21, 1966.  The church was formally dedicated on August 21, 1966.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First Madonna del Castello Church, 1933
        Interior of first church, 1933
        Second Madonna del Castello Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Mary, Mother of Hope (New Castle)
        New Castle
        X
        Mary, Mother of Hope (New Castle)
        124 North Beaver Street, New Castle, PA, 16101-3902
        Mailing: 910 South Mercer Street, New Castle, PA, 16101
        P: 724-658-2564 | F: 724-652-2322
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • W F 7:00 AM English English in the CCD Building Chapel
        • Sun: 10:45 AM to 11:15 AM
        • Perpetual: Chapel closes at 2:00 PM Saturday and reopens at 1:00 PM Sunday

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Frank D. Almade, Pastor
        Rev. William P. Siple, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Zachary Galiyas, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        Mary, Mother of Hope was established on May 30, 1993, as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by the merger of Madonna of Czestochowa and St. Mary. 

        Photos From the Diocesan Archives:

        Madonna of Czestochowa Church, 2002
        Altar of Madonna of Czestochowa, 2002
        St. Mary Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Mary, 2002
      • Mary, Mother of the Church (Charleroi)
        Charleroi
        X
        Mary, Mother of the Church (Charleroi)
        624 Washington Avenue, Charleroi, PA, 15022-1932
        P: 724-483-5533 | F: 724-483-0122
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • 1st Sat: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Madonna Catholic Regional School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Gerald S. Mikonis, Pastor

        Parish History

        Mary, Mother of the Church was established on November 1, 1992, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization project.  The parish was formed by the merger of the three parishes in Charleroi: Ss. Cyril and Methodius, St. Jerome and Mother of Sorrows.  At first all three churches remained open.  On May 6, 1994, a fire seriously damaged St. Jerome Church.  The building was saved, however, and later repaired.  In 1995, the parish started a year long study of the feasibility of maintaining three church buildings.  The study determined that the parish should only use one church for reasons of economy, convenience and parish unity.  On May 27, 1996, Ss. Cyril and Methodius and Mother of Sorrows Churches closed and were later sold.  St. Jerome Church remains open and serves the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Mary, Mother of the Church (former St. Jerome), 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Mater Dolorosa (Chicora)
        Chicora
        X
        Mater Dolorosa (Chicora)
        409 North Main Street, Chicora, PA, 16025-0243
        Mailing: PO Box 243, Chicora, PA, 16025-0243
        P: 724-445-2275 | F: 724-445-7507
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English
        • Mon: 11:00 AM English English
        • Tu F 9:00 AM English English
        • Thu: 10:00 AM English English at Chicora Medical Center
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:30 AM
        • Fri: 5:00 PM to 6:00 PM
        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Richard J. Thompson, Pastor

        Parish History

        Mater Dolorosa was founded in 1875.  The establishment of the parish can be attributed to the discovery of oil in the area in the early 1870's.  Before that time, the area was a farming area with a small Catholic population.  The local Catholics usually traveled to St. Patrick, Sugar Creek or St. Joseph, North Oakland for Mass, although the pastors of St. Patrick made occasional visits to the area. 

        With the discovery of oil, the local population exploded.  In 1873, the pastor of St. Patrick began offering Mass weekly in an old log school house.  The next year, the bishop authorized the building of a church and in 1875 land was purchased for that purpose.  The new church was dedicated on November 7, 1875.  Within a year, the population had grown to the point that the parish considered building an addition to the church.  Before anything could be done, oil production began to decline and the population dropped rapidly.

        From 1875 until 1924, Mater Dolorosa was a mission of St. Patrick, Sugar Creek.  In 1924, the parish became independent with the assignment of a resident pastor.  The church was renovated in 1925 and enlarged in the 1930's.  In 1951, St. James, Petrolia became a mission of Mater Dolorosa.  In 1968 St. James was merged with Mater Dolorosa. 

        By the 1960's, it became obvious that the old church would have to be replaced.  Ground was broken for the new church on July 25, 1965.  The cornerstone was laid on September 25, 1966 and the completed church was dedicated on November 24, 1967.

        In 1993, because of a shortage of priests in the diocese, the pastor of Mater Dolorosa also became the administrator of St. Joseph, North Oakland.  Although both parishes remain independent, the same priest has responsibility for both congregations.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Mater Dolorosa Church, 1933
        Interior of Mater Dolorosa Church, 1933
        Altar of church, 1933
        Mater Dolorosa Church, 2002
      • Most Holy Name of Jesus - Most Holy Name of Jesus Church (Troy Hill)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Most Holy Name of Jesus - Most Holy Name of Jesus Church (Troy Hill)
        1520 Claim Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212-4393
        Mailing: 1700 Harpster Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        P: 412-231-2969 | F: 412-231-7180
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. James R. Orr, Pastor
        Rev. James W. Garvey, In Residence
        Deacon Gregory Jelinek

        Parish History

        Most Holy Name of Jesus parish was established in 1868.  Before the parish was established, most of the residents of Troy Hill attended St. Mary Church in Allegheny City, now Pittsburgh's North Side.  In 1866, the pastor of St. Mary decided that the Catholic population of Troy Hill and of Manchester had grown to the point that both localities could support a church.  He decided to build two additional churches that, with St. Mary, would be dedicated to the Holy Family.  Manchester got St. Joseph Church and the church in Troy Hill was dedicated to Jesus.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on August 26, 1866, and the completed building was dedicated on June 7, 1868.  On July 4, a resident pastor, Rev. S. G. Mollinger, was assigned to the parish.

        The rear of the church building was partitioned off to form living quarters for the priest and a small school.  The new pastor added two side altars and replaced the main altar in 1869.  In 1875 a school was built and a rectory was built in 1877.   The rear of the church was then converted into a convent.  Not long afterwards, a separate building for a convent was purchased.  The internal partitions in the church were removed and the altars were moved to the rear wall of the building.

        Even this extension soon proved inadequate.  In the 1890's, the church was expanded by tearing down the rear wall and adding a sanctuary and sacristy.  Side entrances were added and the front of the church was extended and a belfry erected.  This work was completed in 1898.  In the early twentieth century the Sacristy was extended and a basement dug under the church.  On May 1, 1933, a side wall of the church collapsed.  Until the damage was repaired, the parish celebrated Mass at St. Anthony Chapel. 

        The church has been renovated several times since then.  However, the same building still serves the congregation of the parish today.

        St. Anthony Chapel

        The first pastor, Fr. Mollinger, came from a wealthy family in Europe.  Political upheavals in Europe in the 1860's and 1870's led to the looting of numerous churches and monasteries.  Many relics from these churches and monasteries began turning up in pawnshops and second hand stores.  Fr. Mollinger began buying up these relics, eventually gathering over 5,000 of them.  By the late 1870's, Fr. Mollinger realized that he needed somewhere to store all of these relics.  He initially proposed to the Most Holy Name church committee that the parish build a new church.  He even offered to donate $75,000 if the parish would match the amount.  However, the church committee felt that this goal was unobtainable.  As a result, Fr. Mollinger decided to build a small chapel and dedicate it to St. Anthony.  The chapel was built in 1880.  It was enlarged in 1892 and dedicated on June 13, 1892.  Two days later, Fr. Mollinger died.

        By the late 1960's the chapel had deteriorated badly.  In 1972, the bishop gave a group of local citizens permission to raise funds to restore the building.  After five years, the restoration was complete.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Most Holy Name of Jesus, 2001
        Altar of Most Holy Name of Jesus, 2001
        St. Anthony Chapel, 2001
      • Most Holy Name of Jesus - Saint Anthony Chapel (Troy Hill)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Most Holy Name of Jesus - Saint Anthony Chapel (Troy Hill)
        1704 Harpster Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        Mailing: 1700 Harpster Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        P: 412-231-2969 | F: 412-231-7180
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 7:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. James R. Orr, Pastor
        Rev. James W. Garvey, In Residence
        Deacon Gregory Jelinek

        Parish History

        Most Holy Name of Jesus parish was established in 1868.  Before the parish was established, most of the residents of Troy Hill attended St. Mary Church in Allegheny City, now Pittsburgh's North Side.  In 1866, the pastor of St. Mary decided that the Catholic population of Troy Hill and of Manchester had grown to the point that both localities could support a church.  He decided to build two additional churches that, with St. Mary, would be dedicated to the Holy Family.  Manchester got St. Joseph Church and the church in Troy Hill was dedicated to Jesus.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on August 26, 1866, and the completed building was dedicated on June 7, 1868.  On July 4, a resident pastor, Rev. S. G. Mollinger, was assigned to the parish.

        The rear of the church building was partitioned off to form living quarters for the priest and a small school.  The new pastor added two side altars and replaced the main altar in 1869.  In 1875 a school was built and a rectory was built in 1877.   The rear of the church was then converted into a convent.  Not long afterwards, a separate building for a convent was purchased.  The internal partitions in the church were removed and the altars were moved to the rear wall of the building.

        Even this extension soon proved inadequate.  In the 1890's, the church was expanded by tearing down the rear wall and adding a sanctuary and sacristy.  Side entrances were added and the front of the church was extended and a belfry erected.  This work was completed in 1898.  In the early twentieth century the Sacristy was extended and a basement dug under the church.  On May 1, 1933, a side wall of the church collapsed.  Until the damage was repaired, the parish celebrated Mass at St. Anthony Chapel. 

        The church has been renovated several times since then.  However, the same building still serves the congregation of the parish today.

        St. Anthony Chapel

        The first pastor, Fr. Mollinger, came from a wealthy family in Europe.  Political upheavals in Europe in the 1860's and 1870's led to the looting of numerous churches and monasteries.  Many relics from these churches and monasteries began turning up in pawnshops and second hand stores.  Fr. Mollinger began buying up these relics, eventually gathering over 5,000 of them.  By the late 1870's, Fr. Mollinger realized that he needed somewhere to store all of these relics.  He initially proposed to the Most Holy Name church committee that the parish build a new church.  He even offered to donate $75,000 if the parish would match the amount.  However, the church committee felt that this goal was unobtainable.  As a result, Fr. Mollinger decided to build a small chapel and dedicate it to St. Anthony.  The chapel was built in 1880.  It was enlarged in 1892 and dedicated on June 13, 1892.  Two days later, Fr. Mollinger died.

        By the late 1960's the chapel had deteriorated badly.  In 1972, the bishop gave a group of local citizens permission to raise funds to restore the building.  After five years, the restoration was complete.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Most Holy Name of Jesus, 2001
        Altar of Most Holy Name of Jesus, 2001
        St. Anthony Chapel, 2001
      • Nativity (South Park)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Nativity (South Park)
        5800 Brownsville Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236
        Mailing: 5802 Curry Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236
        P: 412-655-3000 | F: 412-650-4658
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Fri: 9:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:15 PM to 6:45 PM
        • Fri: 2:00 PM to 3:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. John J. Baver, Administrator

        Parish History

        Nativity Parish was established in 1905.  It began as a mission of St. Francis of Assisi, Finleyville to serve surrounding mining communities.  Mass was offered in a local school.  In 1910, the parish became independent with the appointment of a resident pastor.  Shortly afterwards a church was built, but it did not last long.  During the night of February 25, 1918, the church caught fire and burned down.  Until a new church could be built, Mass was celebrated in the Moose Hall and Lamb's Hall.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid on July 28, 1918 and the completed church was dedicated on December 25, 1919.

        This church served the congregation for 40 years.  In the 1950's, plans were drawn up for a new combined church/school building.  Groundbreaking for the new building took place on November 1, 1959.  The completed building was dedicated on October 22, 1960.  In 1966, the old church was torn down to make room for a new activities building.

        The parish renovated the church in 1983-1984.  A new organ was purchased in 1995 and stained glass windows were installed in 1998-1999.  The church was again renovated in 2007. 

        In February of 2010 a massive snowstorm caused a power outage which was followed by a surge.  This led to the failure of the heating system.  Water pipes above the church froze and caused serious water damage to the church.  The parish moved Mass to the parish gym until the damage could be repaired.  On December 18, 2010, the restored church reopened with a Mass of thanksgiving.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second Nativity Church, 1932
        Interior of second church, 1932
        Nativity Church/school, 2002
        Interior of Nativity Church, 2002
      • North American Martyrs - North American Martyrs Church (Monroeville)
        Monroeville
        X
        North American Martyrs - North American Martyrs Church (Monroeville)
        2526 Haymaker Road, Monroeville, PA, 15146-3508
        P: 412-373-0330 | F: 412-380-1306
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M W 8:00 AM English English
        • Fri: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM Except 2nd Saturday of the month

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        North American Martyrs School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Joseph G. Luisi, Pastor

        Parish History

        North American Martyrs was established on May 31, 1960, in response to the growth of population of the Monroeville area.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on June 12, 1960, in the Burke Glenn Ballroom.  On November 23, 1961, ground was broken for a school that would also include a temporary church.  On November 18, 1962, Mass was first celebrated in the church and the completed church/school building was dedicated on June 28, 1963.

        The temporary church served the parish for over 15 years.  Ground for the new church was broken on Thanksgiving Day of 1979.  The completed building was dedicated on November 23, 1980.  The temporary church was converted to a social hall and parish activities center.

        Beginning in 2007, the pastors of North American Martyrs Parish and St. Michael Parish, Pitcairn began discussions on a possible merger.  In early 2009, the formal merger process began with the parishes meeting with diocesan officials, holding parish town hall meetings, and seeking parishioner feedback.  The study recommended that the two parishes merge, that the parish retain the name of North American Martyrs and that both churches remain open to serve the parish.  The recommendations were accepted and the merger took place on September 4, 2010.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        North American Martyrs Church, 2002
        Altar of North American Martyrs Church, 2002
        St. Michael Church, 2002
      • North American Martyrs - Saint Michael Church (Pitcairn)
        Pitcairn
        X
        North American Martyrs - Saint Michael Church (Pitcairn)
        750 Wall Avenue, Pitcairn, PA, 15140
        P: 412-373-2610 | F: 412-373-2031
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Tu Th 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM 2nd Saturday of the month only

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        North American Martyrs School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Joseph G. Luisi, Pastor

        Parish History

        North American Martyrs was established on May 31, 1960, in response to the growth of population of the Monroeville area.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on June 12, 1960, in the Burke Glenn Ballroom.  On November 23, 1961, ground was broken for a school that would also include a temporary church.  On November 18, 1962, Mass was first celebrated in the church and the completed church/school building was dedicated on June 28, 1963.

        The temporary church served the parish for over 15 years.  Ground for the new church was broken on Thanksgiving Day of 1979.  The completed building was dedicated on November 23, 1980.  The temporary church was converted to a social hall and parish activities center.

        Beginning in 2007, the pastors of North American Martyrs Parish and St. Michael Parish, Pitcairn began discussions on a possible merger.  In early 2009, the formal merger process began with the parishes meeting with diocesan officials, holding parish town hall meetings, and seeking parishioner feedback.  The study recommended that the two parishes merge, that the parish retain the name of North American Martyrs and that both churches remain open to serve the parish.  The recommendations were accepted and the merger took place on September 4, 2010.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        North American Martyrs Church, 2002
        Altar of North American Martyrs Church, 2002
        St. Michael Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Consolation - Our Lady of Consolation Church (Nemacolin)
        Carmichaels
        X
        Our Lady of Consolation - Our Lady of Consolation Church (Nemacolin)
        837 Wood Avenue, Carmichaels, PA, 15320
        Mailing: 408 Route 88, Carmichaels, PA, 15320
        P: 724-966-7270 | F: 724-966-9118
        • Sat: 4:45 PM English English
        • Wed: 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 4:15 PM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Consolation was founded in 1923.  It's founding was the result of the growth of population in Nemacolin.  The first Mass was held in the summer of that year in an old school building.  For three years, Nemacolin was visited by priests from All Saints in Masontown and Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Leckrone (both parishes are now part of the Diocese of Greensburg).  In the fall of 1926 Bishop Hugh Boyle appointed a pastor to Our Lady of Consolation.

        The former school building that was serving as a church at that point was considered only a temporary expedient.  On November 30, 1928, land was purchased for a new church.  Construction was begun immediately and the first Mass was celebrated in the unfinished church building on Christmas Day of 1928.  The cornerstone for the new church was laid on February 22, 1929, and the completed building was dedicated on May 30, 1929.

        On December 30, 1961, fire struck the church.  However, the fire was extinguished quickly enough to save the church.  Despite the damage, Mass was celebrated in the church the next day. 

        Over the years, several changes were made to the building, most notably the addition of a steeple.  However, this church still stands and continues to serve the Catholic community of Nemacolin.

        On August 28, 1992, St. Mary, Crucible and Sacred Heart, Rice's Landing were merged with Our Lady of Consolation.  All three churches remain open and serve the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Exterior of Our Lady of Consolation Church; the building to the right is the rectory, 1934
        Our Lady of Consolation Church, 2002
        Sacred Heart Church, Rice's Landing, 2002
        Interior of Sacred Heart Church, 2002
        St. Mary Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Mary Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Consolation - Sacred Heart Church (Rices Landing)
        Rices Landing
        X
        Our Lady of Consolation - Sacred Heart Church (Rices Landing)
        1189 Crucible Road, Rices Landing, PA, 15357
        Mailing: 408 Route 88, Carmichaels, PA, 15320
        P: 724-966-7270 | F: 724-966-9118
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Consolation was founded in 1923.  It's founding was the result of the growth of population in Nemacolin.  The first Mass was held in the summer of that year in an old school building.  For three years, Nemacolin was visited by priests from All Saints in Masontown and Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Leckrone (both parishes are now part of the Diocese of Greensburg).  In the fall of 1926 Bishop Hugh Boyle appointed a pastor to Our Lady of Consolation.

        The former school building that was serving as a church at that point was considered only a temporary expedient.  On November 30, 1928, land was purchased for a new church.  Construction was begun immediately and the first Mass was celebrated in the unfinished church building on Christmas Day of 1928.  The cornerstone for the new church was laid on February 22, 1929, and the completed building was dedicated on May 30, 1929.

        On December 30, 1961, fire struck the church.  However, the fire was extinguished quickly enough to save the church.  Despite the damage, Mass was celebrated in the church the next day. 

        Over the years, several changes were made to the building, most notably the addition of a steeple.  However, this church still stands and continues to serve the Catholic community of Nemacolin.

        On August 28, 1992, St. Mary, Crucible and Sacred Heart, Rice's Landing were merged with Our Lady of Consolation.  All three churches remain open and serve the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Exterior of Our Lady of Consolation Church; the building to the right is the rectory, 1934
        Our Lady of Consolation Church, 2002
        Sacred Heart Church, Rice's Landing, 2002
        Interior of Sacred Heart Church, 2002
        St. Mary Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Mary Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Consolation - Saint Mary Church (Crucible)
        Rices Landing
        X
        Our Lady of Consolation - Saint Mary Church (Crucible)
        676 Carmichaels Street, Rices Landing, PA, 15357
        Mailing: 408 Route 88, Carmichaels, PA, 15320
        P: 724-966-7270 | F: 724-966-9118
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Consolation was founded in 1923.  It's founding was the result of the growth of population in Nemacolin.  The first Mass was held in the summer of that year in an old school building.  For three years, Nemacolin was visited by priests from All Saints in Masontown and Our Lady of Perpetual Help in Leckrone (both parishes are now part of the Diocese of Greensburg).  In the fall of 1926 Bishop Hugh Boyle appointed a pastor to Our Lady of Consolation.

        The former school building that was serving as a church at that point was considered only a temporary expedient.  On November 30, 1928, land was purchased for a new church.  Construction was begun immediately and the first Mass was celebrated in the unfinished church building on Christmas Day of 1928.  The cornerstone for the new church was laid on February 22, 1929, and the completed building was dedicated on May 30, 1929.

        On December 30, 1961, fire struck the church.  However, the fire was extinguished quickly enough to save the church.  Despite the damage, Mass was celebrated in the church the next day. 

        Over the years, several changes were made to the building, most notably the addition of a steeple.  However, this church still stands and continues to serve the Catholic community of Nemacolin.

        On August 28, 1992, St. Mary, Crucible and Sacred Heart, Rice's Landing were merged with Our Lady of Consolation.  All three churches remain open and serve the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Exterior of Our Lady of Consolation Church; the building to the right is the rectory, 1934
        Our Lady of Consolation Church, 2002
        Sacred Heart Church, Rice's Landing, 2002
        Interior of Sacred Heart Church, 2002
        St. Mary Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Mary Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Fatima (Hopewell Township)
        Aliquippa
        X
        Our Lady of Fatima (Hopewell Township)
        2270 Brodhead Road, Aliquippa, PA, 15001-4678
        P: 724-375-7626 | F: 724-375-0219
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 9:00 AM English English 1st and 3rd Saturdays Only
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:00 PM 4:00 PM to 4:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Our Lady of Fatima School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Howard W. Campbell, Pastor
        Rev. Thomas R. Wilson, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. William F. Kohler, In Residence
        Deacon Robert J. Bittner, Permanent Deacon

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Fatima was established on June 9, 1954.  The founding of the parish was due to the growth of population in the area.  The first Mass of the parish was celebrated on June 13, 1954, in a banquet hall.  The parish used this banquet hall for  Sunday Masses.  In August of 1954, the parish rented a small building for confessions and daily Masses.  The first Mass in this small chapel was celebrated on September 13, 1954.  Baptisms and marriages were celebrated at St. Titus parish, Aliquippa.

        These arrangements continued while the parish built a school with space for an auditorium/gymnasium that would be used as a temporary church.  Land for the church was purchased on November 4, 1954. Ground for the new building was broken on August 7, 1955.  The cornerstone was laid on October 16, 1955, and the building was dedicated on March 3, 1956. 

        The parish was finally ready to build a permanent church in the mid 1980's.  The completed church was dedicated on November 8, 1987.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Fatima Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Grace (Scott Township)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Our Lady of Grace (Scott Township)
        310 Kane Boulevard, Pittsburgh, PA, 15243-1498
        P: 412-279-7070 | F: 412-279-2385
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MF 6:45 AM English English
        • MSa 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Our Lady of Grace School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Richard A. Infante, Pastor
        Deacon Lawrence R. Sutton

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Grace was established in June of 1947 in response to the growing population in the South Hills.  At the time the parish was formed, St. John Capistran mission church was assigned to the parish.  Until the new parish could build a church, it used the St. John Capistran Church building for services.  Land for the new church was not purchased until September 20, 1948.  Ground for a temporary church was broken on August 14, 1949, and the completed building was dedicated on June 18, 1950.  This new church was only temporary.  The first floor consisted of the church, which was designed so that it could later be converted to four classrooms.  The basement of the building served as the parish social hall.

        In 1954 a second floor was added to the building to serve as the first four grades of a school.  The cornerstone of the building was laid on February 21, 1954, and the building was blessed on August 22, 1954.  In September of 1956, an eight room wing was added to the building.  Six more classrooms were added in 1958.

        On January 7, 1962, ground was broken for the permanent church.  The cornerstone was laid on November 4, 1962, and the completed church was dedicated on June 12, 1963.  The old church facilities were converted to classrooms.  Stations of the Cross were added in 1964 and the stained glass windows installed in 1966.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Grace Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Joy (Holiday Park)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Our Lady of Joy (Holiday Park)
        2000 O'Block Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15239-2336
        P: 412-795-3388 | F: 412-793-5308
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • MW F 8:30 AM English English
        • Thu: 12:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 5:00 PM to 5:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Albert L. Zapf, Pastor
        Rev. Ladis J. Cizik, In Residence

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Joy was founded in June of 1968 in response to the growth of population in the suburban community of Holiday Park.  The first Mass of the parish was celebrated on June 16, 1968, in the auditorium of Our Lady of Mercy Academy.  The parish continued to use the auditorium for Sunday Masses until a church was built.  The church was built in 1972 and dedicated in September of 1972.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Joy Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Loreto (Brookline)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Our Lady of Loreto (Brookline)
        1905 Pioneer Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15226-1298
        P: 412-341-6161 | F: 412-341-3399
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John Bosco Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. James M. Bachner, Pastor
        Rev. Gary W. Oehmler, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Fernando Torres, LC, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Peter Asantebwana, In Residence
        Deacon Mark S. Bibro
        Deacon Thomas J. O'Neill
        Deacon Richard A. Longo

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Loreto was established on May 27, 1959.  The parish was carved out of Resurrection parish in response to the influx of people into the Brookline area.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on May 31, 1959, in the auditorium of Elizabeth Seton High School.  The parish continued to use the auditorium for Sunday Masses until its own church was completed.  Daily Masses were celebrated at Resurrection Church.

        On May 28, 1961, ground was broken for a school with a temporary church.  The cornerstone was laid on September 24, 1961, and the completed building was dedicated on August 22, 1962.  The school gym served as the parish's church.  In 1968, plans were drawn up to convert the building's multi-purpose hall into a permanent church.  From May to August of 1969, Sunday Masses were again celebrated at Elizabeth Seton High School while the conversion of the hall into the church took place.  Beginning on August 3, 1969, the parish again celebrated Mass in its own building.  The permanent church was formally dedicated on October 25, 1969.  On May 25, 1984, the church received a new altar and crucifix.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Loreto Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Lourdes (Burgettstown)
        Burgettstown
        X
        Our Lady of Lourdes (Burgettstown)
        1109 Main Street, Burgettstown, PA, 15021-1086
        P: 724-947-3363 | F: 724-947-9348
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • M WF 8:30 AM English English
        • Tue: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. George J. Moneck, Pastor

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Lourdes was founded in 1916.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the rise of the coal industry beginning in 1910.  As the mines opened, the population expanded.  At first local Catholics had to travel to either St. Alphonsus in McDonald or to Steubenville, Ohio to attend Mass.  In 1915, the Catholic community in Burgettstown sent a petition to the bishop asking that a parish be established.  On July 15, 1915 an assistant to the pastor was sent to St. Alphonsus with instructions to organize a parish in Burgettstown.  From July 1915 to May 1916, this priest traveled to Burgettstown once a week to celebrate Mass.  In May 1916, the parish was formally established.

        For the first two years of its existence, the parish used rented commercial facilities to celebrate Mass.  On May 5, 1918, the cornerstone for a combined church and school was laid.  On December 8, 1918, the basement church was dedicated.  In 1924, the upper two floors of the building were completed for use as a school.  However, the school did not open until September 1942.

        In December 1955, ground was broken for a new church.  This church was dedicated on February 11, 1957.  The old combined church and school building remained in use as a school until 2006, but continues to serve as a Religious Education Center. Both buildings continue to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Combination church and school building, 1933
        Our Lady of Lourdes Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Peace (Conway)
        Conway
        X
        Our Lady of Peace (Conway)
        1000 Third Avenue, Conway, PA, 15027-1665
        P: 724-869-3024 | F: 724-869-3025
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 10:30 AM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 4:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. James Kurtz, OFM Cap, Pastor
        Deacon James T. Weiland

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Peace was established in 1941.  Before the parish was founded, local Catholics had to travel to Freedom to attend Mass.  Early in 1941, the pastor of St. Felix in Freedom advised the Catholics of Conway to secure a place of worship in Conway.  The Capuchin Friars at St. Cecilia, Rochester, agreed to take responsibility for the new parish.  In March of 1941, an old store room was leased and renovated.  On March 30, 1941, the first Mass in Conway was celebrated.

        In 1942, the parish purchased land to build a church.  However, they were unable to begin construction due to a shortage of building materials caused by the war.  The rented store room continued to serve the congregation until 1946.  In that year, the state announced its plans to widen the highway, which required the demolition of the leased store room.  Unable to build a proper church, the parish instead built a quonset hut to be used as a temporary church.  The quonset hut was dedicated on December 22, 1946.

        In 1954, the parish received permission to build another temporary church.  This new church was to be constructed of brick and would eventually be converted to classrooms.  Ground was broken in the summer of 1954 and the completed church was dedicated on December 11, 1955.  The quonset hut was then converted to a CCD school.  This arrangement worked for awhile, but the parish soon needed more space for catechism classes.  In 1961, the parish received permission to build a new church.  Ground was broken on September 2, 1962.  The cornerstone was laid on February 20, 1963, and the completed church was dedicated on May 19, 1964.  While construction was going on, the parish purchased a home to be used a rectory.  Up until that time, the pastors of Our Lady of Peace resided in Rochester.  After the new church was built, the former church was renovated and converted into a Catechetical Center.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Peace, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Our Lady of the Angels (Lawrenceville)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Our Lady of the Angels (Lawrenceville)
        225 37th Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15201-1805
        P: 412-682-0929 | F: 412-682-6889
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 10:00 AM English English
        • MTh 6:30 PM English English in the Parish House Chapel
        • 1st Fri: 6:30 PM English English in the Parish House Chapel
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM
        • Wed: 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. John D. Harvey, OFM Cap, Pastor
        Rev. Eric Gauchat, OFM Cap., In Residence
        Deacon Richard T. Fitzpatrick

        Parish History

        Our Lady of the Angels was established in 1993 as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization project.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Augustine, Holy Family, St. John the Baptist and St. Mary.  Of the four churches, St. John the Baptist was sold shortly after the merger.  The remaining three churches at first remained open.  However, after a few years, the parish determined that the congregation could not support three church buildings.  St. Mary Church closed in November of 2004.  Holy Family Church closed on Dec. 28, 2008.  St. Augustine Church remains open and continues to serve the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Augustine Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Augustine, 2002
      • Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal (Meadowlands)
        Meadow Lands
        X
        Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal (Meadowlands)
        300 Pike Street, Meadow Lands, PA, 15347-0366
        Mailing: PO Box 366, Meadow Lands, PA, 15347-0366
        P: 724-222-1911 | F: 724-222-5688
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 2:30 PM Spanish Español
        • M Tu Th F 10:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 4:00 PM to 4:45 PM
        • 1st Fri: 10:30 AM to 8:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. Carmen A. D'Amico, Pastor
        Deacon Anton V. Mobley

        Parish History

        Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal was established on June 18, 1953, when the parish was canonically erected.  However, the origin of the parish can be traced back to 1943, when the bishop instructed the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) to organize a mission to Meadowlands.   The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who lacked access to an existing church.  A priest from the MCCD organized a Sunday School class in February of 1944.  The first Mass of the new mission was celebrated on April 16, 1944, in the Crystal Theater.  The parish used the theater for five years until a church could be built.

        Ground for the church was broken on September 2, 1948, and the cornerstone was laid on November 14, 1948.  The first Mass in the new building was celebrated on June 12, 1949, in the new completed church auditorium.  The first Mass in the church took place on Christmas of 1949.  The building was formally dedicated on September 3, 1950.

        In June of 1953, the parish was formed and a resident pastor assigned.  The church was renovated in the 1970s

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of the Miraculous Medal Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament - Most Blessed Sacrament Church (Natrona Heights)
        Natrona Heights
        X
        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament - Most Blessed Sacrament Church (Natrona Heights)
        800 Montana Avenue, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        Mailing: 1526 Union Avenue, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        P: 724-226-4900 | F: 724-224-3559
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • MF 7:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:45 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament School

        Clergy:

        Rev. John B. Lendvai, Administrator
        Rev. Aaron J. Kriss, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Patrick G. Wood

        Parish History

        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  It was formed by merging Most Blessed Sacrament and Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  Both churches remain open and serves the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Most Blessed Sacrament Church, 2002
        Interior of Most Blessed Sacrament, 2002
        Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church, 2002
        Interior of Our Lady of Perpetual Help, 2002
      • Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament - Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church (Natrona Heights)
        Natrona Heights
        X
        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament - Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church (Natrona Heights)
        11th and Carolina Street, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        Mailing: 1526 Union Avenue, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        P: 724-226-4900 | F: 724-224-3559
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Tue: 7:00 PM English English
        • Tue: 7:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament School

        Clergy:

        Rev. John B. Lendvai, Administrator
        Rev. Aaron J. Kriss, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Patrick G. Wood

        Parish History

        Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  It was formed by merging Most Blessed Sacrament and Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  Both churches remain open and serves the new parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Most Blessed Sacrament Church, 2002
        Interior of Most Blessed Sacrament, 2002
        Our Lady of Perpetual Help Church, 2002
        Interior of Our Lady of Perpetual Help, 2002
      • Our Lady of the Valley (Donora)
        Donora
        X
        Our Lady of the Valley (Donora)
        1 Park Manor Road, Donora, PA, 15033-1986
        P: 724-379-4777 | F: 724-379-6242
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Madonna Catholic Regional School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Pierre M. Falkenhan Jr, Pastor

        Parish History

        Our Lady of the Valley was established on November 1, 1992, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization project.  The parish was formed by merging the four existing parishes in Donora:  St. Dominic, St. Philip Neri, St. Charles and Holy Name of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  Of the four churches, two -- St. Dominic and St. Philip Neri -- remained open and continued to serve the new parish.  The other two churches were closed pending sale of the property.

        However, the population in the Mon Valley continued to decline.  By the early 21st century, it became obvious that the area could no longer support the number of parishes and churches then in existence.  In October 0f 2007, the parishes in Monongahela, Charleroi and Donora took part in a two year study to look at the future of the Church in the region.  The study considered the demographics, spiritual needs, financial stability and an assessment of the parish buildings in the three communities.  The study developed several recommendations, including the recommendation that St. Dominic Church be closed.  The bishop accepted this recommendation and on August 15, 2011 St. Dominic Church closed and St. Philip Neri was renamed Our Lady of the Valley church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of the Valley Church, 2002
      • Our Lady of Victory (Harwick)
        Harwick
        X
        Our Lady of Victory (Harwick)
        1319 Low Grade Road, Harwick, PA, 15049-0198
        P: 724-274-8575 | F: 724-274-0529
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M Tu 12:00 PM English English
        • W F 8:30 AM English English
        • Thu: 6:30 PM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Alan E. Morris, Pastor

        Parish History

        Our Lady of Victory was established in 1944.  A meeting of local Catholics in May of that year with the pastor of St. Mary of Czestochowa, New Kensington led to the organization of the parish.  The first Mass was celebrated on July 30, 1944 in an  abandoned school building.  Our Lady of Victory remained a mission of St. Mary until the Diocese of Greensburg was created.  St. Mary became a part of the new diocese.  Our Lady of Victory was then assigned as a mission of St. Alphonsus parish, Springdale.

        By 1956, the parish collected enough money to begin work on a new church.  Ground was broken on November 22, 1956, and the completed church was dedicated on December 7, 1957.  In June of 1959, the parish became independent with the assignment of a resident pastor.  In subsequent years, improvements were made to the building including installation of stained glass windows and a new organ in the 1960's and a carillon in the 1970's.  The church was renovated again in 1983.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Our Lady of Victory Church, 2001
        Interior of Our Lady of Victory, 2001
      • Pittsburgh Oratory of Saint Philip Neri (Oakland)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Pittsburgh Oratory of Saint Philip Neri (Oakland)
        4450 Bayard Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15213
        P: 412-681-3181 | F: 412-681-2922
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English 5:15 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 4:00 PM English English 9:00 PM English English
        • MF 7:30 AM English English 5:15 PM English English
        • MTh 9:00 PM English English During the Academic Year only
        • Sat: 10:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 10:00 AM to 10:45 AM 7:45 PM to 8:45 PM
        • MF 7:00 AM to 7:20 AM 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM 4:30 PM to 5:00 PM
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:45 PM
        • Perpetual: The Holy Eucharist is reposed during Mass times
      • Prince of Peace - Saint Adalbert Church (South Side)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Prince of Peace - Saint Adalbert Church (South Side)
        160 South 15th Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15203
        Mailing: 81 South 13th Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15203
        P: 412-481-8380 | F: 412-431-0209
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • MF 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John Bosco Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. Bernard M. Harcarik, Pastor
        Rev. Eugene F. Lauer, In Residence
        Deacon Frank J. Szemanski

        Parish History

        Prince of Peace was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization program.  It was formed by the merger of the seven existing parishes in the South Side.  Of the seven churches, four -- St. Adalbert, St. Josaphat, St. Matthew and St. Peter -- initially remained open and served the new parish.  Two churches, St. Michael and St. Casimir, were sold and one, St. John the Evangelist, was torn down.  Later, two more churches were closed, St. Josaphat and St. Matthew.  Currently the parish is being served by the former St. Adalbert and St. Peter Churches.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Adalbert Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Adalbert, 2002
        St. Peter Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Peter, 2002
      • Prince of Peace - Saint Peter Church (South Side)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Prince of Peace - Saint Peter Church (South Side)
        28th & Sarah Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15203
        Mailing: 81 South 13th Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15203
        P: 412-481-8380 | F: 412-431-0209
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM 1st Sunday of the month only

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John Bosco Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. Bernard M. Harcarik, Pastor
        Rev. Eugene F. Lauer, In Residence
        Deacon Frank J. Szemanski

        Parish History

        Prince of Peace was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization program.  It was formed by the merger of the seven existing parishes in the South Side.  Of the seven churches, four -- St. Adalbert, St. Josaphat, St. Matthew and St. Peter -- initially remained open and served the new parish.  Two churches, St. Michael and St. Casimir, were sold and one, St. John the Evangelist, was torn down.  Later, two more churches were closed, St. Josaphat and St. Matthew.  Currently the parish is being served by the former St. Adalbert and St. Peter Churches.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Adalbert Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Adalbert, 2002
        St. Peter Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Peter, 2002
      • Queen of the Rosary (Glassport)
        Glassport
        X
        Queen of the Rosary (Glassport)
        530 Michigan Avenue, Glassport, PA, 15045-1496
        P: 412-672-7209 | F: 412-672-6390
        • Sat: 4:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM 3:30 PM to 3:55 PM
        • 1st Fri: 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Mary of Nazareth Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Miroslaus A. Wojcicki, Administrator

        Parish History

        Queen of the Rosary was established on January 15, 1994, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization project.  It was formed by the merger of Holy Cross and St. Cecilia.  Of the two churches only Holy Cross Church remains open.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Queen of the Rosary Church (former Holy Cross Church), 2002
        Interior of the church, 2002
      • Resurrection (Brookline)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Resurrection (Brookline)
        1100 Creedmoor Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15226-2299
        P: 412-563-4400 | F: 412-563-4403
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:30 AM English English 6:30 PM English English
        • Mon: 6:00 PM English English
        • WF 9:00 AM English English
        • Mon: 5:00 PM to 5:45 PM
        • Mon: 5:00 PM to 5:45 PM 3rd Monday of the month only

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John Bosco Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. James M. Bachner, Pastor
        Rev. Gary W. Oehmler, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Fernando Torres, LC, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Mark S. Bibro
        Deacon Thomas J. O'Neill
        Deacon Richard A. Longo

        Parish History

        Resurrection parish was established in 1909.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the opening of the Mt. Washington Streetcar Tunnel in 1904.  Before the tunnel opened, travel to Pittsburgh from the South Hills was time consuming and difficult.  This kept the population in the area down.  Once travel to and from Pittsburgh became easier, Brookline experienced a rapid growth.  By 1909, Brookline had grown to the point that a parish could be supported.  On May 3, 1909, land for a church was purchased and on May 25, the parish was officially established.  The first Mass of the parish was celebrated on May 30 in a rented storeroom.  This storeroom served as a church for a year. 

        Beginning in June of 1909, work began on a combined church and school building.  The cornerstone was laid on September 19, 1909, and the first Mass was celebrated in the new church on March 27, 1910.  The basement of the building was devoted to the church and the upper floor constituted the school.  To meet the growing needs of the school, a second floor and a wing was added to the original building in 1912.  A second wing was added in 1923 to 1924.  A final addition, connecting the two wings, was constructed in 1928.

        The continuing growth of the parish led to the building of a new church.  Ground for the church was broken on April 25, 1938, and the completed church was dedicated on February 13, 1939.  The original church was converted into a gym and, in 1953, into four classrooms.  The church was renovated in 1955 and 1984.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Resurrection Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Resurrection (West Mifflin)
        West Mifflin
        X
        Resurrection (West Mifflin)
        1 Majka Drive, West Mifflin, PA, 15122-1833
        P: 412-461-8087 | F: 412-461-0142
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English October-March
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English
        • M Tu 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM

        Clergy:

        Rev. Edward M. Czemerda, Administrator

        Parish History

        Resurrection was established in 1936.  Beginning in 1934, a group of Catholics in the section of West Mifflin called Homeville organized to work for a local parish.  A year later, they presented a petition to the bishop for a parish.  On November 7, 1935, the bishop instructed the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) to take over the care of Homeville until a regular parish could be established.  The MCCD was formed by the diocese to minister to Catholics in isolated areas who did not have easy access to a parish.  On April 12, 1936, the first Mass in the new parish was celebrated in the Homeville firehall.  On September 30, 1937, a resident pastor was assigned to the parish. 

        Groundbreaking for a new church took place on May 24, 1938.  The church was dedicated on November 11, 1938.   The church served the congregation for twenty five years, surviving a fire in 1946. 

        Beginning in 1960, the parish began a renovation of the entire parish plant.  The first step was the purchase of additional land and the construction of a parish school.  The school was built and opened in 1962.  On September 3, 1963, ground was broken for a new church with an attached convent.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid on October 11, 1964, and the church was dedicated on April 11, 1965.  The old church was converted to a social center.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First Resurrection Church, 1941
        Interior of church, 1941
        Resurrection Church, 2002
      • Risen Lord (Marshall-Shadeland)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Risen Lord (Marshall-Shadeland)
        3250 California Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212-2362
        P: 412-761-1507 | F: 412-761-6454
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. David D. DeWitt, Pastor
        Deacon Robert E. Koslosky

        Parish History

        Risen Lord parish was established in 1993, as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Francis Xavier, St. Gabriel the Archangel, St. Leo and Our Lady of Perpetual Help.  Three of the four church remained open, with only Our Lady of Perpetual Help being closed.  However, as time went on, it became obvious that the parish could not support three church buildings.  In 1999 St. Leo and St. Gabriel the Archangel churches were closed.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Risen Lord Church (formerly St. Francis Xavier), 2001
        Interior of Risen Lord Church, 2001
      • Sacred Heart (Emsworth)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Sacred Heart (Emsworth)
        154 Orchard Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15202-1595
        P: 412-761-6651 | F: 412-766-8298
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:30 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 10:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. Dam D. Nguyen, Pastor
        Deacon Stephen M. Deskevich

        Parish History

        Sacred Heart was established in 1891.  Before the establishment of the parish, local Catholics had to travel to St. Mary in Glenfield to attend Mass.  On February 22, 1891, a committee of local Catholics met to discuss plans for a new church.  Work on the church began later that year.  The completed building was dedicated on February 21, 1892.

        This original church served the congregation for over 50 years.  On November 21, 1954, ground was broken for a new church.  The cornerstone was blessed on June 26, 1955, and the completed building was dedicated on December 10, 1955.  This church continues to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second Sacred Heart Church, 2002
        Interior of second church, 2002
      • Sacred Heart (Shadyside)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Sacred Heart (Shadyside)
        310 Shady Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15206-4389
        P: 412-661-0187 | F: 412-661-7932
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English 7:45 PM English English
        • M Tu ThSa 8:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 12:05 PM English English
        • Thu: 11:15 AM to 11:45 AM
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Sacred Heart School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert J. Grecco, Pastor
        Rev. David G. Rombold, In Residence
        Deacon John A. Vaskov

        Parish History

        Sacred Heart was founded in 1872.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the arrival of Irish immigrants to the East End in the years before the parish founding.  Originally the area had been settled primarily by Germans, who established the German parish of Ss. Peter and Paul.  As English speaking Catholics settled in the area, they attended Ss. Peter and Paul.  Since the sermons and prayers were conducted in German, the newcomers, with the concurrence of the pastor of Ss. Peter and Paul, decided in 1871 to organize a new parish.  The bishop agreed to the formation of the parish and in 1872 assigned a resident pastor for the new parish.  The first Mass of Sacred Heart parish was celebrated on August 4, 1872, in Ss. Peter and Paul Church.

        The next day work began on a small church.  The building was completed in two weeks and the first Mass was celebrated there on August 18, 1872.  This building was only meant to serve as a temporary church.  On June 15, 1873, the cornerstone of a new, larger church was laid.  The completed church was dedicated on October 24, 1875. 

        By the 1920's it became obvious that a larger church would be needed.  But rather than build the new church on Center Avenue, where the first two churches had been located, property was purchased on Shady Ave.  Plans were made for an impressive Gothic church, based on some of the great Cathedrals of Europe.  Ground was broken on March 7, 1924, beginning church construction that would not be completed for close to 30 years.  On October 8, 1926, the last Mass was celebrated in the old church and two days later the first Mass was celebrated in the new church.  Although the church was in use, it was far from finished.  Mass was celebrated in the church's Nave at a temporary altar.  On March 7, 1928, ground was broken for the church's Sanctuary, which was dedicated on January 7, 1929.

        The parish continued making additions to the church building.  On November 31, 1931, the facade window was installed.  Six years later, the auditorium in the Crypt of the church was completed.  Blessed Sacrament Chapel was dedicated on May 8, 1941.  On September 26, 1954, the Lady Chapel was dedicated and on October 31, 1954, the Bell Tower Memorial was dedicated.

        The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Sacred Heart Church, 2001
        Interior Sacred Heart Church, 2001

      • Saint Agnes (West Mifflin)
        West Mifflin
        X
        Saint Agnes (West Mifflin)
        529 Grant Avenue Extension, West Mifflin, PA, 15122-3898
        P: 412-466-6545 | F: 412-466-6968
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:45 AM English English
        • TuF 7:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Agnes School

        Clergy:

        Rev. E. Daniel Sweeney, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Agnes was founded in 1867.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the settlement of German Catholics in what was then Mifflin Township.  Before 1867, these Catholics attended St. Peter in McKeesport.  By 1867, enough Catholics had settled in the area to support a parish.  On March 19, 1867, the parish was officially established.  The next year work on a new church began and the completed building was dedicated on August 1, 1869.  From 1869 until 1889, the basement of the church served as the parish school.  For the first year and a half, the parish was a mission of St. Peter, but in October 1868, a resident pastor was appointed.

        This church served the parish for a century.  In 1969 an inspection of the church revealed that the building was no longer safe to use.  On October 1, 1969, the decision was made to renovate the school audio-visual room and library as a temporary church.  On October 5, 1969, the last Mass was celebrated at the original church.  In November 1973, work began on a new church.  The church was completed and dedicated on May 25, 1974.  On June 5, 1974, the old church caught fire and was completely destroyed. 

        On October 11, 1992, new stained glass windows were installed in the church.  Other than this change, the church as built in 1974, continues to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Agnes Church, 1934
        Side view of St. Agnes, 1934
        Main altar, 1934
        Side altar, 1934
        Second St. Agnes Church, 2002
        Interior of second church, 2002
      • Saint Alexis (Wexford)
        Wexford
        X
        Saint Alexis (Wexford)
        10090 Old Perry Highway, Wexford, PA, 15090-9320
        P: 724-935-4343 | F: 724-935-1270
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 5:00 PM English English
        • M WSa 8:00 AM English English
        • M W Th Sa 7:30 AM to 7:50 AM
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Blessed Francis Seelos Academy (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. Paul J. Zywan, Pastor
        Deacon Jeffrey J. Ludwikowski

        Parish History

        St. Alexis was established on May 25, 1961.  The parish was the result of the growth of population in the northern suburbs.  Land for the parish plant came from the purchase of a farm.  While the church was being constructed, Sunday Masses were held at the Pine Valley Roller Skating Rink.  However, this building was not available for daily Masses.  To meet this need, an existing chicken coop on the farm property was renovated and turned into a temporary chapel.  The first Mass in this chapel was celebrated on July 8, 1961.

        Ground for the church was broken in the fall of 1961.  The building was constructed in 1962 and the first Mass was celebrated in it on December 23, 1962.  The church was formally dedicated on August 11, 1963.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alexis Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Aloysius (Reserve Township)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Aloysius (Reserve Township)
        3616 Mount Troy Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        Mailing: 1700 Harpster Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        P: 412-821-2351 | F: 412-821-6480
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:15 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. James R. Orr, Pastor
        Deacon Gregory Jelinek

        Parish History

        St. Aloysius was established in 1892.  Before the organization of the parish, local Catholics had to travel to Most Holy Name parish on Troy Hill to attend Mass, or, for the children, to attend school.  Because of the difficulties in traveling to Troy Hill, particularly in winter, local Catholics decided that they needed a church of their own.  On November 26, 1891, the first organizational meeting for a new parish was held.  In 1892, a petition was sent to the bishop asking for permission to form a new parish.  On April 12, 1892, the bishop visited the area, inspected the site chosen for the church and gave his permission to build the church.

        Plans were made to construct a building that would hold not only the church, but also a school and a residence for a priest.  The cornerstone for the new church was laid on July 10, 1892 and the completed building was dedicated on January 8, 1893.  At first the parish was a mission of Most Holy Name but a resident pastor was assigned in June of 1893.

        In 1905, a new rectory was built.  The space in the building that had been used as the rectory was converted into a convent.  By 1919, the church building was in need of extensive repairs.  The existing steeple was replaced and the facade of the building was remodeled.  In 1921, the interior of the church was also redecorated.  The church was again renovated in 1947.

        By the 1950's, the parish had expanded to the point that it needed a new church and school.  On May 5, 1957, ground was broken for a new church and school building.  The cornerstone was laid on July 10, 1957, and the completed building was dedicated on October 4, 1958.  During this time, the old church/school building was demolished.

        In 1980, the interior of the church was renovated and new stained glass windows installed.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Aloysius, 2001
        Altar of St. Aloysius, 2001
      • Saint Alphonsus (McDonald)
        McDonald
        X
        Saint Alphonsus (McDonald)
        219 West Lincoln Avenue, McDonald, PA, 15057-1404
        P: 724-926-2984 | F: 724-926-9251
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English
        • M W F 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:45 PM
        • Wed: 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM 1st, 3rd, and 5th Wednesdays only

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. Benedetto P. Vaghetto, Pastor
        Deacon Leon F. Miles

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was founded in 1892.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the arrival of workers to labor in the local coal mines and oil fields.  In 1892 the pastor of St. Patrick, Noblestown came to McDonald to organize the new congregation.  Land was purchased for a church and on July 31, 1892, the cornerstone of the new church was laid.  The completed church was dedicated on May 14, 1893.  This church did last long, however.  On February 25, 1900, a fire broke out in the church and completely destroyed the building.  Construction of a new church was begun in March 1900.  The cornerstone was laid on July 15, 1900 and the completed structure was dedicated on June 16, 1901.

        The church was initially a mission of St. Patrick, Noblestown until 1907 when the first resident pastor arrived at the parish.  The church was renovated in 1926 and in 1984.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alphonsus church, 1933
        Rear view of church, 1933
        Interior of church, 1933
        Interior of church, 1933
      • Saint Alphonsus (Springdale)
        Springdale
        X
        Saint Alphonsus (Springdale)
        750 Pittsburgh Street, Springdale, PA, 15144-1537
        P: 724-274-5084 | F: 724-274-7035
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:15 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Kenneth E. Kezmarsky, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was established in 1901.  However, the origins of the parish can be traced further back, although the details of the early days of the Catholic Community in Springdale are few.  Catholics began settling in Springdale as early as the 1850's.  Occasionally a priest would visit the town and celebrate Mass, presumably in a private home or commercial building.  When and how often these visits took place is not well documented.  Around 1889, a small chapel was built on land donated by the owner of the local glue works.  This chapel was named in honor of St. Alphonsus Ligouri.  At first it was a mission of the Holy Ghost Fathers, but in a year or so responsibility for the church was transferred to St. Peter, Tarentum.  In 1898, this chapel burned down and for the next three years local Catholics had to travel to Tarentum to attend Mass.

        The change to the status quo began with the construction of the Heidenkamp Mirror Co. starting in 1899.  This factory attracted a number of new arrivals to Springdale including a number of Catholics.  Around the turn of the century, the local Catholics began to organize for the purpose of forming a parish of their own.  They began collecting funds for a church and, in 1901, the owner of the Heidenkamp Mirror Co., a Catholic, erected a building and offered it as a place for worship free of charge.  In response to this activity, the bishop assigned a resident priest to Springdale on September 9, 1901.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated on September 14, 1901.

        On August 18, 1903, the parish purchased land for a rectory and a combined church and school building.  Work on the church/school building began in August of 1904 and the completed church was dedicated in December of 1904.  The first floor contained school rooms and the second floor contained the church.

        Within two decades the congregation began outgrowing its church.  In 1926 a new church was built.  The old church space was converted to classrooms.  The original building continued to serve the parish until 1970 when it was destroyed in a fire and torn down.

        The church built in 1926 continues to serve the parish today.

      • Saint Alphonsus (Wexford)
        Wexford
        X
        Saint Alphonsus (Wexford)
        201 Church Road, Wexford, PA, 15090-8843
        P: 724-935-1151 | F: 724-934-3788
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • M Tu F 7:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Blessed Francis Seelos Academy (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. Kevin C. Fazio, Pastor
        Rev. Vincent F. Kolo, In Residence
        Deacon Albert E. Heiles Jr.

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was founded in 1840.  Catholic settlement in the area began as early as 1790.  The early settlers were farmers, both Irish and Germans.  To attend Mass, these Catholics had to either depend on the occasional visit from a missionary priest, or, after 1808, to travel to Pittsburgh to visit St. Patrick.  The first known Mass in the area was celebrated in a private home in 1832.  In 1835, the Bishop of Philadelphia visited Wexford.  While there a local Catholic gave him a deed for land for a church. 

        The actual building of a church did not occur until after the Redemptorist Fathers arrived in Pittsburgh and founded St. Philomena and took responsibility for the Catholics in Wexford.  The cornerstone for the new church was laid in May 1840 and the completed church was dedicated on July 19, 1840. 

        For the first 24 years, St. Alphonsus was a mission of other parishes.  At various times it was a mission of St. Philomena, St. Mary in Sharpsburg, Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver and St. Peter in Allegheny City (now Pittsburgh's North Side).  Sometime between 1843 and 1860, the original church was destroyed in a storm and a new church was built.

        In 1864, the parish received its first resident pastor.  As the population grew over the years, the need for a larger church became obvious.  A new church was built in 1889.  As the population continued to grow, the church again became too small.  Rather than build a new church, the parish renovated and expanded the existing church in 1912.  The seating area was extended and two sacristies, a new sanctuary and altars, confessionals and a baptismal font were added.

        In the 1960's, the congregation again outgrew the existing church.  Again the parish decided to expand the existing church rather than build a new building.  This expansion took place in 1968.  The original church building was renovated in 1976. 

        This church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alphonsus Church, 1931
        Main altar, 1934
        Side altar, 1934
        St. Alphonsus Church, 2002
        Altar, 2002
      • Saint Alphonsus - Epiphany Church (Boyers)
        Boyers
        X
        Saint Alphonsus - Epiphany Church (Boyers)
        141 Middendorf Street, Boyers, PA, 16020
        Mailing: P.O. Box 246, West Sunbury, PA, PA, 16061
        P: 724-476-1476 | F: 724-476-1477
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. James Bedillion, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was founded in 1841.  The parish was the outgrowth of Irish immigration to the area, beginning in 1796.  Among the Catholic immigrants was Hugh Murrin, for whom the town was named.  For some 40 years, the small community was occasionally visited by priests either passing through the area or stationed at Sugar Creek, Butler or Pittsburgh.  Until 1841, Mass was held in the home of Hugh Murrin.  Eventually, the congregation grew to the point that a church was needed.  On August 23, 1841, a contract to build the church was drawn up and the completed church was dedicated on August 2, 1842.  Until 1850, the church was attended from either Butler or Sugar Creek.  In 1850 a resident pastor was assigned to the parish.

        In December of 1892, a fire destroyed the interior of the church.  However, the stone walls of the building were still intact and after some debate, the congregation repaired the structure rather than tearing it down and building a new church.  The renovated church was dedicated on December 2, 1893.  This church continues to serve the community today.  However, the parish did not survive as an independent entity.  The diocesan reorganization and revitalization of the early 1990's led to the merging of St. Alphonsus, Epiphany in Boyers, St. Paschal in Argentine and St. Louis in West Sunbury in 1993.  The new parish retained the name St. Alphonsus and the original church building is still in use as a worship site.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alphonsus, undated
        Rectory and church, undated
      • Saint Alphonsus - Saint Alphonsus Church (Murrinsville)
        Murrinsville
        X
        Saint Alphonsus - Saint Alphonsus Church (Murrinsville)
        270 West Sunbury Road, Murrinsville, PA, 16020
        Mailing: P.O. Box 246, West Sunbury, PA, 16061
        P: 724-476-1476 | F: 724-476-1477
        • Sun: 9:15 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. James Bedillion, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was founded in 1841.  The parish was the outgrowth of Irish immigration to the area, beginning in 1796.  Among the Catholic immigrants was Hugh Murrin, for whom the town was named.  For some 40 years, the small community was occasionally visited by priests either passing through the area or stationed at Sugar Creek, Butler or Pittsburgh.  Until 1841, Mass was held in the home of Hugh Murrin.  Eventually, the congregation grew to the point that a church was needed.  On August 23, 1841, a contract to build the church was drawn up and the completed church was dedicated on August 2, 1842.  Until 1850, the church was attended from either Butler or Sugar Creek.  In 1850 a resident pastor was assigned to the parish.

        In December of 1892, a fire destroyed the interior of the church.  However, the stone walls of the building were still intact and after some debate, the congregation repaired the structure rather than tearing it down and building a new church.  The renovated church was dedicated on December 2, 1893.  This church continues to serve the community today.  However, the parish did not survive as an independent entity.  The diocesan reorganization and revitalization of the early 1990's led to the merging of St. Alphonsus, Epiphany in Boyers, St. Paschal in Argentine and St. Louis in West Sunbury in 1993.  The new parish retained the name St. Alphonsus and the original church building is still in use as a worship site.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alphonsus, undated
        Rectory and church, undated
      • Saint Alphonsus - Saint Louis Church (West Sunbury)
        West Sunbury
        X
        Saint Alphonsus - Saint Louis Church (West Sunbury)
        202 West State Street, West Sunbury, PA, 16061-0246
        Mailing: PO Box 246, West Sunbury, PA, 16061-0246
        P: 724-476-1476 | F: 724-476-1477
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:15 AM English English
        • MF 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 5:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. James Bedillion, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Alphonsus was founded in 1841.  The parish was the outgrowth of Irish immigration to the area, beginning in 1796.  Among the Catholic immigrants was Hugh Murrin, for whom the town was named.  For some 40 years, the small community was occasionally visited by priests either passing through the area or stationed at Sugar Creek, Butler or Pittsburgh.  Until 1841, Mass was held in the home of Hugh Murrin.  Eventually, the congregation grew to the point that a church was needed.  On August 23, 1841, a contract to build the church was drawn up and the completed church was dedicated on August 2, 1842.  Until 1850, the church was attended from either Butler or Sugar Creek.  In 1850 a resident pastor was assigned to the parish.

        In December of 1892, a fire destroyed the interior of the church.  However, the stone walls of the building were still intact and after some debate, the congregation repaired the structure rather than tearing it down and building a new church.  The renovated church was dedicated on December 2, 1893.  This church continues to serve the community today.  However, the parish did not survive as an independent entity.  The diocesan reorganization and revitalization of the early 1990's led to the merging of St. Alphonsus, Epiphany in Boyers, St. Paschal in Argentine and St. Louis in West Sunbury in 1993.  The new parish retained the name St. Alphonsus and the original church building is still in use as a worship site.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Alphonsus, undated
        Rectory and church, undated
      • Saint Andrew (Butler)
        Butler
        X
        Saint Andrew (Butler)
        1660 North Main Street Extension, Butler, PA, 16001-1543
        P: 724-287-7781 | F: 724-287-7346
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM to 8:15 AM
        • MSa 7:00 AM to 7:45 AM
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:15 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Butler Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Nicholas J. Argentieri, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Andrew parish was established in 1964.  The parish was established to meet the spiritual needs of the Catholics in Center Township.  At first Mass was celebrated in the St. Paul School auditorium.  It was not until 1966 that work began on a parish church.  On November 27, 1966, ground was broken for a combined church/educational center.  The cornerstone was laid on May 6, 1967, and the church was completed on July 16, 1967.  The church was officially dedicated on November 26,1967.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Andrew Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Angela Merici (White Oak)
        White Oak
        X
        Saint Angela Merici (White Oak)
        1640 Fawcett Avenue, White Oak, PA, 15131-1802
        P: 412-672-9641 | F: 412-672-1576
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M Tu ThSa 8:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Wed: 6:00 PM to 6:45 PM
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:15 PM
        • Wed: 6:00 PM to 7:00 PM
        • 1st Fri: 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Mary of Nazareth Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Kevin J. Dominik, Pastor
        Deacon Dale J. DiSanto

        Parish History

        St. Angela Merici was established on June 12, 1958, to meet the needs of the growing community of White Oak.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on June 15, 1958, in the Rainbow Gardens Roller Skating Rink.  Fund raising for a new church began on May 18, 1959.  On July 24, 1960, ground was broken for a combined church and school building.  The first Mass in the new church was celebrated on August 20, 1961.  The school opened on September 5, 1961.  The building was formally dedicated on December 9, 1961.

        This church was intended to be a temporary measure.  However, the temporary church ended up serving the congregation for 40 years.  By the turn of the century work began on a new church.  The church was dedicated on January 16, 2002.  The old church will be converted to classrooms.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Angela Merici Church, 2002
      • Saint Ann (Bulger)
        Bulger
        X
        Saint Ann (Bulger)
        967 Grant Street, Bulger, PA, 15019-0488
        Mailing: PO Box 488, Bulger, PA, 15019-0488
        P: 724-796-3791 | F: 724-796-5173
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:30 AM to 9:00 AM
        • Sat: 5:00 PM to 5:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert M. Staszewski, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Ann was founded in 1916.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the creation of a Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) mission in December 1, 1912.  The MCCD was established to provide catechetical instruction in communities too small to support a parish. Before the parish was formed, local Catholics usually had to travel to St. Alphonsus in McDonald to attend Mass. The Mass celebrated in Bulger took place in November of 1913.  From that point, Mass was occasionally celebrated in Bulger until July of 1915.  On July 15, 1915, a priest was assigned to St. Alphonsus with the directive to form parishes at Bulger and Burgettstown.  From that point, Mass was celebrated every Sunday in the local nickelodeon.

        In May of 1916, the parish was formed and made a mission of Ss. Peter and Paul in Cherry Valley.  Work on a church began on September 20, 1916.  The cornerstone was laid on October 29, 1916, and the completed church was dedicated on August 26, 1917.  In April of 1918, a resident pastor was assigned to St. Ann.  In a reversal of roles, Ss. Peter and Paul then became a mission of St. Ann.  Ss. Peter and Paul remained a mission of St. Ann until 1943.   

        The church was burned down in 1929.  A new church was built the next year.  Although the church has been renovated twice over the years, this building stills serves the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ann, 1933
        St. Ann interior, 1933
        St. Ann, 2002
        St. Ann interior, 2002
      • Saint Ann (Waynesburg)
        Waynesburg
        X
        Saint Ann (Waynesburg)
        232 East High Street, Waynesburg, PA, 15370-1821
        P: 724-627-7568 | F: 724-627-3735
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:30 PM English English
        • Fri: 12:15 PM English English
        • Sat: 7:00 PM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        St. Ann was founded in 1839.  However, the history of Catholicism in Greene County goes back to 1785.  In that year, a representative of 70 Catholic settlers in the area sent an appeal to Bishop John Carroll of Philadelphia to have a priest to visit them at least once a year.  Unfortunately, the bishop had no priests to spare and for over a decade the only time the local residents saw a priest was when one passed through the area on his way elsewhere.

        In 1797, Rev. Patrick Lonergan from Northumberland County settled in Fayette County and began ministering to the Catholics of Fayette, Greene and Washington counties.  In 1799 Rev. Lonergan moved to Waynesburg and on November 19 of that year purchased a lot of ground with his own funds.  For two years he remained in Waynesburg, celebrating Mass in private homes.  In poor health, he left Waynesburg in 1801.  Before he left, he deeded the land to the Bishop of Philadelphia to establish a church.  He died in Louisiana in 1804. 

        At this time, there may or may not have been a small log church on the land.  Some histories state there was; others say that there was not.  Whether or not there was a church, Waynesburg was periodically visited by priests from either Pittsburgh or Brownsville.  In approximately 1829, work was begun on a brick church.  Due to the small congregation, work progressed slowly.  The church was finally completed and dedicated as St. Ann on July 28, 1839.

        At this time, St. Ann was a mission of the church in Brownsville.  A priest from that town visited Waynesburg about once a month to celebrate Mass.  Due to the small congregation, the parish could not afford needed maintenance and routine repairs to the church.  By 1852, the church was in such bad condition that it could no longer be used safely.  For the next 17 years, Mass was celebrated in local private homes.  Finally in 1869, work was begun on a new church.  This church was completed in 1871 and dedicated on October 29 of that year.

        In 1897, the parish became independent with the appointment of its first resident pastor.  Over the years, the church has undergone several renovations, but this building still serves the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Front view of church, 1933
        Rear view of church, 1933
        Main and side altar, 1933
      • Saint Anne (Castle Shannon)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Anne (Castle Shannon)
        400 Hoodridge Drive, Pittsburgh, PA, 15234-1794
        P: 412-531-5964 | F: 412-531-6901
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • Tue: 6:30 PM English English
        • Tue: 5:15 PM to 6:15 PM
        • Sat: 8:30 AM 11:00 AM to 11:45 AM
        • Tue: 8:30 AM to 6:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Anne School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Michael A. Caridi, Pastor
        Rev. Hugh J. Lang, In Residence
        Rev. Frederick Gruber, In Residence
        Deacon Victor P. DeFazio

        Parish History

        St. Anne was established in 1889 as a mission of St. Michael, South Side.  The first Mass to be celebrated in the new parish was celebrated on September 15, 1889.  The Mass was celebrated in a private home in which the owner fitted one room as a chapel.  At first Mass was celebrated once a month.  Work on a new church began in 1891 or 1892 and the completed church was dedicated on May 30, 1893.  Once the church was built, Mass was celebrated once a week. In 1896, the parish became independent with the appointment of a resident pastor.

        This church served the parish for almost seven decades.  Over the years it was renovated several times, including the removal of the original tower.  After the end of World War II the area experience a rapid growth of population.  By the late 1950's the congregation had outgrown the existing church.  Fund raising for a new church began in 1957.  On October 29, 1961, ground was broken for the new church.  The completed building was dedicated on April 14, 1963.  The old church was later razed.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The original St. Anne Church, after the tower had been removed, 1932
        Main altar of original church, 1932
        Side altar of church, 1932
        St. Anne Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Athanasius (West View)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Athanasius (West View)
        7 Chalfonte Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15229-1825
        P: 412-931-4624 | F: 412-939-3516
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MF 7:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:30 AM by request
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert A. Norton, Pastor
        Rev. Leroy A. DiPietro, In Residence
        Deacon Gary L. Comer
        Deacon William R. Palamara Jr.

        Parish History

        St. Athanasius was established on July 8, 1907.  The parish was founded as a result of the growth of population in the area.  During the winter of 1906 to 1907, local Catholics met to plan for their own parish.  They petitioned the bishop for a parish and the bishop approved the petition.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated on July 14, 1907, in a barn.  Soon afterwards work began on a building that would contain the church, two classrooms, a convent and rectory.  In addition, the basement would hold a dining room, kitchen and bowling alleys.

        The cornerstone of the building was laid on June 28, 1908, and the completed building was dedicated on June 6, 1909.  The church occupied the second floor of the building.  As the parish grew, the parish plant grew with it.  A rectory was built in 1924 and in 1928 an annex was added to the building to hold additional classrooms.  Soon the congregation outgrew the church.  On July 22, 1941, ground was broken for a new church and on May 2, 1943, it was dedicated.  The old church was abandoned, although the rest of the building remained in use until 1980, when the building was torn down.

        In the late 1950's the stained glass windows were installed in the church.  In the 1960's the sanctuary was remodeled and a new organ was installed in 1974.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Original St. Athanasius Church/school building.  the annex added in 1928 can be seen to the left of the tower, 1945.
        St. Athanasius Church, 2002
        Sanctuary of original church, 1945.
      • Saint Barbara (Bridgeville)
        Bridgeville
        X
        Saint Barbara (Bridgeville)
        45 Prestley Road, Bridgeville, PA, 15017-1971
        P: 412-221-5152 | F: 412-221-7935
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 7:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Dennis P. Yurochko, Administrator
        Rev. Joseph M. Freedy, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Barbara was established in 1894 as a Slovenian parish.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the opening of coal mines in the Bridgeville area.  These mines led to the rise of population as people gravitated to the community to find work.  Many of these new arrivals were European immigrants.  In March of 1894 a parish for the English speaking residents was established.  However, the recent arrivals from Europe who did not speak English wanted a parish where they could worship in their native tongues.  A group of local Catholics representing the German and Slovenia communities met on August 15, 1894, to discuss organizing a parish.  The outcome of the meeting was a proposal to invite a recently arrived priest from Slovenia, who spoke seven languages, to form a parish.  Land was donated for a church and work began in 1894.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on December 4, 1894, in the unfinished church.  The building was completed in 1895 and it was dedicated on November 28, 1895.

        On July 30, 1896, the church was severely damaged in a wind storm.  The church was soon repaired.  The building was remodeled in the 1920's and the 1930's.  In 1938, the parish was changed from a Slovenian parish to a territorial parish.  The church was again renovated and remodeled in the early 1940's for the 50th anniversary of the parish.  Additional church improvements were made in 1967.

        However, the parish eventually had to replace the original church.  Work on a new church began in the early 1980's and the completed church was dedicated on December 8, 1985.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Barbara Church, 1933
        Interior of first St. Barbara Church, 1933
        Current St. Barbara Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Barbara Church, 2002
      • Saint Bartholomew (Penn Hills)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Bartholomew (Penn Hills)
        111 Erhardt Drive, Pittsburgh, PA, 15235-1799
        P: 412-242-3374 | F: 412-242-1488
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:30 AM English English
        • MF 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:15 PM
        Regional Vicariate 4, District 6

        Clergy:

        Rev. Edwin J. Wichman, Administrator
        Rev. John Odeyemi, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Faustine Furaha, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Bartholomew was established on June 28, 1950, in response to the growth of population in Penn Hills.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated in a private home.  Afterwards, the parish rented the Penn Hebron Garden Club for the celebration of Sunday and Holy Day Masses until a church could be built.  In February of 1951 ground was broken for a building that would include a temporary church and parish hall.  The first Mass in the new temporary church was celebrated on October 7, 1951, and the building was officially dedicated on October 28, 1951. 

        Work on a school addition to the original building began in 1953.  The addition included a school gymnasium that would be used as temporary church.  The addition was completed in 1954 and dedicated on September 2, 1954.  The original space used as a temporary church was then converted to classrooms.

        By the early 1960's the parish had paid off all of its debts and was ready to build a permanent church.  Ground for the church was broken in September 1964.  The cornerstone was laid on February 11, 1965, and the completed church was dedicated on May 24, 1965.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Bartholomew Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Bede (Point Breeze)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Bede (Point Breeze)
        509 South Dallas Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15208-2897
        P: 412-661-7222 | F: 412-661-9337
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • MF 7:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 2:30 PM 6:00 PM
        • M Tu Th F 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Bede School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Edward M. Bryce, Pastor
        Deacon Richard M. Tucek, Deacon Administrator
        Rev. John Twinomujuni, In Residence
        Rev. Augustine Temu, In Residence
        Rev. Jame Adeoye, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Bede was established in 1922.  The first St. Bede church was built in 1922 and located on Dallas Ave.  The first Mass was held on December 31, 1922 and the Church was dedicated on February 11, 1923.  In 1930 the church was lengthened from 99 feet to 135 feet.  By the end of World War II, the church was clearly inadequate for the congregation and a campaign began to raise funds for a new church.  Groundbreaking began in August of 1950 and the cornerstone was laid on October 29, 1950.  The present church was dedicated on September 23, 1951.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The original St. Bede Church, circa 1930
        Exterior view of St. Bede, 1951
        Interior View of St. Bede during its dedication, September 23, 1951
      • Saint Benedict the Abbot (Peters Township)
        McMurray
        X
        Saint Benedict the Abbot (Peters Township)
        120 Abington Drive, McMurray, PA, 15317-3302
        P: 724-941-9406 | F: 724-941-9517
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:30 PM English English
        • MSa 8:30 AM English English
        • TuTh 6:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:30 PM to 7:00 PM
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:30 AM
        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert M. Miller, Pastor
        Rev. Adam Potter, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Benedict the Abbot was established on May 29, 1962.  The parish was founded to meet the needs of the growing community of Peters Township.  Before the church was built, Sunday Mass was celebrated in the Peters Township Senior High School auditorium.  Ground for a temporary church was broken on January 12, 1964.  The completed building was dedicated on August 1, 1965.  This church served the congregation for over 40 years.  However, the influx of population in the area around the turn of the century caused the congregation to outgrow this church.  A new church, seating over 1100 persons, was dedicated on August 5, 2006.  The original church was then converted to a parish center and classrooms for the parish's religious education program.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Benedict Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Benedict, 2002
        The second St. Benedict Church, 2008
        Interior of the second St. Benedict Church, 2008
      • Saint Benedict the Moor (Hill District)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Benedict the Moor (Hill District)
        91 Crawford Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15219-4438
        P: 412-281-3141 | F: 412-391-7151
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English July and August only 12:00 PM English English September through June only
        • Sun: 8:30 AM to 8:50 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Benedict the Moor School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Richard J. Zelik, OFM Cap, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Benedict the Moor was established on July 1, 1977.  The parish was formed by the merger of St. Brigid-St. Benedict the Moor parish and St. Richard parish.  The new parish was given the name of St. Benedict the Moor.  Of the two churches, St. Richard was closed and converted to a school.  The St. Brigid-St. Benedict the Moor Church was renamed St. Benedict the Moor.  This was the fourth name change for the building.  Originally the church was Holy Trinity Church.  In 1958, Holy Trinity parish was suppressed and merged with St. Brigid.  The new parish used the Holy Trinity Church building and renamed it St. Brigid.  In 1968, St. Brigid merged with St. Benedict the Moor.  The church was then renamed St. Brigid-St. Benedict the Moor.

        The church was renovated in 1981.  This church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Benedict the Moor, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Bernadette (Monroeville)
        Monroeville
        X
        Saint Bernadette (Monroeville)
        245 Azalea Drive, Monroeville, PA, 15146-1796
        P: 412-373-0050 | F: 412-374-8113
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 7:00 PM English English
        • M W F 9:30 AM English English
        • Mon: 7:00 PM English English
        • TuF 7:15 AM English English
        • Sat: 8:30 AM English English
        • Mon: 6:00 PM to 6:45 PM
        • Sat: 9:00 AM
        • Mon: 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM
        • 1st Sat: 9:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Bernadette School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Anthony Gargotta, Pastor
        Deacon Michael W. Kelly

        Parish History

        St. Bernadette was established on June 15, 1955.  The founding of the parish was a result of the movement of population from the cities to the suburbs following World War II.  In the 1940's, the Catholics in Monroeville (then called Patton Township) attended Mother of Sorrows Church in Murrysville in Westmoreland County.  When the Diocese of Greensburg was formed in 1951, Westmoreland County became part of the new diocese.  The bishop gave local Catholics permission to continue attending Mother of Sorrows temporarily.  Some local residents did so, while others joined St. Colman parish in Turtle Creek.

        In June of 1952, local Catholics held a meeting and formed the Monroeville Catholic Guild.  The purpose of the organization was to arrange for catechism classes for the children and to lay the groundwork for a new parish.  The Guild conducted a survey to determine the number of Catholics in the area and made arrangements with the owners of a local nightclub, the Majestic Gardens, to use their facilities for catechism classes.  By 1955 the population of Monroeville had grown to the point that the bishop canonically established the new parish.

        The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on June 19, 1955, in the Majestic Gardens.  This building was used by the parish for Sunday Masses for two years until a church could be completed.  Anticipating that the population would continue to grow, the parish decided to construct a building that would include classrooms and a temporary church.  Construction of the new building began in late 1956 and the cornerstone was laid on June 9, 1957.  The completed building was dedicated on September 28, 1957.  The first floor served as the temporary church and the second floor contained four classrooms.

        In September of 1961 an addition was made to the church/school building bringing the number of classrooms up to sixteen.  By the middle of the 1960's, the parish was ready to build a new, permanent church.  Construction of the new church began in October of 1966.  The first Mass in the new church was celebrated on December 14, 1968, although the building was not yet completed.  The cornerstone was laid on December 22, 1968, and the completed church was dedicated on September 27, 1969. 

        In January of 1975, the church spire was damaged in a storm.  The damage was repaired in March.  In 1980, the interior of the church was remodeled.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Bernadette Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Bernard (Mount Lebanon)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Bernard (Mount Lebanon)
        311 Washington Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15216-1698
        P: 412-561-3300 | F: 412-563-0211
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:00 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 12:45 PM English English 7:30 PM English English
        • MF 7:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:30 AM
        • Thu: 4:00 PM to 5:00 PM 7:00 PM to 7:30 PM
        • Tu Th 7:30 AM to 10:00 PM in the Adoration Chapel
        • Wed: 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM 1st Wednesday of the month only, in the church

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Bernard School

        Clergy:

        Rev. David J. Bonnar, Pastor
        Rev. Jack E. Demnyan, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Benjamin E. Barr, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Richard J. Wesoloski, In Residence
        Deacon Frederick N. Eckhardt

        Parish History

        St. Bernard was established in August of 1919.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the opening of a street car tunnel through Mt. Washington in 1904.  This event eased travel between the South Hills and downtown and made possible the growth of population in the South Hills.  In the spring of 1919, a group of Catholics living in Dormont petitioned the bishop for a new parish.  The bishop agreed and the parish covering Mt. Lebanon and part of Dormont was formed.

        The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on August 31, 1919, in the second floor of a privately owned carriage house.  On December 31, 1919, the parish purchased land to build a parish plant.  The purchased property included a brick house which was converted to a rectory and temporary church.  The last Mass in the carriage house was celebrated on January 11, 1920, and the next day the first Mass was celebrated in the new church.

        However, it soon became obvious that it was impractical to try to use the house as a church and rectory.  The parish purchased a pre-fabricated building on April 11, 1920, which they dubbed the portable church.  This building was 200 feet long, and 20 feet wide and was dedicated on June 27, 1920. 

        The congregation continued to grow, spurred on by the opening of the Liberty Tubes in 1924.  It quickly outgrew the portable church.  On August 20, 1924, the parish broke ground for a new school which would also include a temporary church.  The cornerstone of the new building was laid on April 12, 1925, and the school opened on September 8, 1925.  The ground level of the school served as the church and the upper two levels contained classrooms.  The building was dedicated on January 31, 1926.  Shortly afterwards, the portable church was donated to the new St. Joan of Arc mission in Library.  As the school attendance continued to grow, the parish soon needed the church space in the school building for classrooms.  In 1933, the bishop gave the parish permission to build the basement of the new church up to the floor level of the superstructure.  Permission to build the superstructure was withheld because of the depression.  Work on the basement began in 1934 and the basement chapel was dedicated on December 16, 1934.

        In 1938, the bishop granted the parish permission to complete the church.  However, construction did not start until January of 1942.  The first Mass in the still unfinished church was celebrated on Palm Sunday of 1947.  Work on the church continued through the rest of the 1940's and all through the 1950's and 1960's.  Not until June 23, 1969, did the pastor declare the church completed.

        Work continued on the church after that.  In the early 1970's the church suffered water damage that was repaired in 1973 and 1974.  In 1982, the lower church was remodeled into a parish hall.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The first St. Bernard rectory, which also briefly served as the second church, 1935
        The first St. Bernard school, 1935.  The first floor served as the parish church from 1925 to 1934.
        St. Bernard Church, 2002
        St. Joseph Chapel of current church, undated.
        Interior of St. Bernard Church, 2002
         
      • Saint Blaise (Midland)
        Midland
        X
        Saint Blaise (Midland)
        772 Ohio Avenue, Midland, PA, 15059-1415
        P: 724-643-4050 | F: 724-643-6533
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Mon: 6:30 PM English English
        • TuF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 4:00 PM
        • 1st Fri: 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Michael L. Yaksick, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Blaise was established on May 28, 1994, as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by the merger of the Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary parish in Midland and St. Christine in Industry.  Initially, the parish kept both parishes open.  In 1998, the parish council launched a study of the parish ministries.  The council determined that the parish did not need to keep both church buildings open.  With the approval of the congregation and the diocese, the parish decided to close St. Christine.  The last Mass at St. Christine was celebrated on February 6, 2000.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary Church, 2002
      • Saint Bonaventure (Glenshaw)
        Glenshaw
        X
        Saint Bonaventure (Glenshaw)
        2001 Mount Royal Boulevard, Glenshaw, PA, 15116-2099
        P: 412-486-2606 | F: 412-492-9329
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English November through March only 6:00 PM English English April through October only
        • Sun: 7:00 AM English English 8:45 AM English English 10:30 AM English English 12:15 PM English English
        • MTh 6:40 AM English English
        • M WSa 8:20 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:30 PM 5:00 PM November through March only 7:00 PM April through October only
        • Wed: 8:45 AM to 7:00 PM in the chapel

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Blessed Trinity Academy (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. John P. Sweeney, Pastor
        Rev. Jeremy J. Mohler, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Stephen J. Byers

        Parish History

        St. Bonaventure was established on June 5, 1957, in response to the growth of population in the North Hills.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on June 14.  At first Mass was celebrated in an old mansion.  The altar was placed in the parlor and the congregation sat in the living room, dining room and hall.  These spaces were not large enough to seat the entire congregation, so the overflow spilled out onto the lawn.  For ten weeks this arrangement continued.  Knowing that they could not depend on good weather every Sunday, a parish committee searched for a larger space that could accommodate the entire congregation.  They settled on the Undercliff Volunteer Fire Company hall.

        During this time, work was begun on a school building that would include a temporary church.  In the original plans, the temporary church would be converted to either a gym or auditorium once a permanent church was completed.  Ground for the new building was broken on May 11, 1958.  The cornerstone was laid on September 7, 1958, and the completed building was dedicated on June 14, 1959.

        By the late 1970's, the parish began considering building a new church.  However, after studying the issue, the parish decided that it could not afford a new building.  Instead, the decision was made to renovate the temporary church into a permanent church.  The renovation began in 1981 and the completed church was blessed on February 14, 1982.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Bonaventure Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Camillus (Neshannock Township)
        New Castle
        X
        Saint Camillus (Neshannock Township)
        314 West Englewood Avenue, New Castle, PA, 16105-1806
        P: 724-652-9471 | F: 724-654-1430
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English 7:00 PM English English at Westminster College (when school is in session)
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • M W F 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM
        • 1st Fri: 2:00 PM to 7:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Michael R. Peck, Pastor
        Deacon Daniel Kielar

        Parish History

        St. Camillus was established on June 4, 1959.  The parish was founded in response to the growth in population of Neshannock Township following World War II.  At first, Mass was celebrated in a local theater.  Ground for a building that would include the church, rectory and social hall was broken on October 15, 1961.  The cornerstone was laid on September 18, 1962, and the completed building was dedicated on September 21, 1962.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Camillus.  The rectory is on the left, the social hall in the center and the church on the right, 1970.
        St. Camillus Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Camillus Church, 2002
      • Saint Catherine of Siena (Beechview)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Catherine of Siena (Beechview)
        1810 Belasco Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15216-3502
        P: 412-531-2135 | F: 412-531-8543
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:30 AM English English 12:30 PM Spanish Español
        • MTh Sa 8:45 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM
        • Wed: 8:45 AM to 10:30 AM First Wednesdays of the month

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John Bosco Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. James M. Bachner, Pastor
        Rev. Gary W. Oehmler, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Fernando Torres, LC, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Mark S. Bibro
        Deacon Thomas J. O'Neill
        Deacon Richard A. Longo

        Parish History

        St. Catherine parish was established in 1902.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to 1891, when the pastor of St. James, West End, built a church in Beechview for the local Catholics.  For a decade, this church was a mission of St. James.  In 1902, St. Catherine was established as an independent parish and a resident pastor was assigned. 

        In 1904, the Mt. Washington Streetcar Tunnel opened, providing a direct link between downtown Pittsburgh and the South Hills.  This led to a rapid population growth of the parish.  By the end of the decade, the parish outgrew its church and a new church was built in 1910.  This church soon proved inadequate as well.  In 1914, work began on a combination church and school.  The basement of the building served as a church and the upper floor as classrooms.  The new building opened in 1915.  The church was enlarged in the mid 1920's.

        The parish continued to grow over the years.  In the 1950's, the parish began acquiring additional property.  By 1961, the parish purchased the last piece of property needed to build a new church.  Groundbreaking for the new church took place on October 14, 1961.  The completed church was dedicated on April 30, 1963.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Catherine Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Catherine of Siena (Crescent)
        Crescent
        X
        Saint Catherine of Siena (Crescent)
        199 McGovern Boulevard, Crescent, PA, 15046-5317
        P: 724-457-7026 | F: 724-457-3292
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • M Tu Th F 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM 5:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Louis F. Vallone, Pastor
        Rev. Robert J. Zajdel, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Leonard Thomas

        Parish History

        St. Catherine was established on June 10, 1959.  However, the origin of the parish can be traced back to the beginning of the century.  In the year 1900, the parish of St. Joseph was established in Coraopolis.  The pastor of that parish began visiting the area once a month to celebrate Mass, either in a private home or in a hotel in Wireton.  On May 8, 1907, land was purchased for a church.  On March 13, 1910, a committee was formed to raise funds for a church.  Work began on the church in the spring of that year and the first Mass was celebrated on August 5, 1910.  The church was initially a mission of St. Joseph, but in 1913 it became a mission of Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver.  In 1917 the church became a mission of St. Joseph, Coraopolis.

        On January 15, 1919, the parish became independent with the appointment of a resident pastor.  However, this status did not last long.  In 1922, St. Catherine became a mission of St. Mary, Beaver Falls and, later in the year, of St. Joseph, Aliquippa.  St. Catherine remained a mission of St. Joseph until the establishment of the parish of Our Lady of Fatima in June of 1954.  At that time, St. Catherine became a mission of Our Lady of Fatima. 

        On August 25, 1957, the church was struck by fire.  The building was completely rebuilt and enlarged.  Finally, on June 10, 1959, St. Catherine became an independent parish with the appointment of a resident pastor.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Catherine Church, 1932
        Interior of first church, 1932
        St. Catherine Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Catherine of Sweden (Hampton Township)
        Allison Park
        X
        Saint Catherine of Sweden (Hampton Township)
        2554 Wildwood Road, Allison Park, PA, 15101-2224
        P: 412-486-6001 | F: 412-486-6004
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:15 AM English English 11:00 AM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • MW F 9:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:30 AM to 12:00 PM
        • Thu: 9:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. Steven V. Neff, Pastor
        Deacon Clifford M. Homer Sr.

        Parish History

        St. Catherine was established in 1953.  However, the origin of the parish stretched back to 1934.  In that year, the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) opened a Sunday School for local children on September 30, 1934.  The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who lacked access to an existing church.  In 1943, the local Catholics petitioned the bishop for permission to build their own church.  Permission was granted to build a church when possible.

        Up until this time, Catholics in Wildwood had to travel to St. Ursula in Allison Park to attend Mass.  In late 1943, a room in an old public school was rented to use for catechetical instruction and celebrating Mass.  The first Mass was celebrated on December 12, 1943.  In 1947, work began on a new church.  The cornerstone was laid on September 28, 1947, and the completed church was dedicated on September 12, 1948.  The parish's status was changed from a mission to an independent parish on June 18, 1953, with the appointment of a resident pastor.

        As the century progressed, the population of the area continued to grow.  Despite part of the parish territory being transferred to the new parish of St. Richard in 1992, the congregation had outgrown its church by the end of the century.  Fund raising for a new church began in the late 1990's.  Ground was broken for a new church on July 20, 2003 and the new church was dedicated on October 2, 2004.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The first St. Catherine Church, 2002
        Altar of the first church, 2002
      • Saint Cecilia (Rochester)
        Rochester
        X
        Saint Cecilia (Rochester)
        628 Virginia Avenue, Rochester, PA, 15074-1256
        P: 724-775-0801 | F: 724-774-3056
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:15 AM English English
        • M W 7:00 PM English English
        • Tu Th F 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Paul Kuppe, OFM Cap, Pastor
        Rev. William Talentino, OFM Cap, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Cecilia was founded in 1856 as a German ethnic parish.  Its origin can be traced to the arrival of some German families to the area in approximately 1852 and the desire of a local land developer to attract people to the town.  The land developer offered to donate land to any religious denomination that wanted to build a church.  Since the only church in Beaver County, Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver, was an English speaking congregation, the Germans in Rochester accepted his offer in 1854.  Work began on the church in 1856 and the completed frame church was dedicated on November 22, 1857.

        At first the church was a mission of St. Mary, North Side (then known as Allegheny City).  In 1868, the pastor of Ss. Peter and Paul died and the two parishes were united under one pastor.  Shortly afterwards, property was purchased for a rectory and the parish had a priest in residence.

        Until 1875, the congregation remained exclusively German. Beginning in that year, the church began attracting English speaking Catholics.  By the end of the century or the beginning of the next, the parish became a territorial parish.

        In 1900 Ss. Peter and Paul was separated from St. Cecilia with the appointment of a resident pastor.  In that year, the parish also received permission to begin work on a new church.  The existing church was torn down in August 1901 and the new one built on the same site.  The cornerstone was laid on October 25, 1903 and the church was dedicated on July 8, 1906. 

        The church was renovated in 1911, 1938, 1949 and 1951.  By the mid 1960's the parish began making plans for a new church.  In March 1967 the church was demolished and work began on a new structure.  While the new church was being built, Mass was celebrated in the school gymnasium.  The first Mass in the church was celebrated on October 4, 1970 and the church was dedicated on November 22, 1970.

        In 1994, the mission parish of St. Pudentiana was suppressed and the church was attached to St. Cecilia parish.  Five years later, on April 29, 1999, St. Cecilia church was closed due to severe structural defects.  Mass was moved to the former school gymnasium.  On July 29, 2001, the decision was made to demolish the church and replace it with a new building.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second St. Cecilia church, 1932
        St. Cecilia church/school, 2002
      • Saint Charles Lwanga - Corpus Christi Church (Homewood)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Charles Lwanga - Corpus Christi Church (Homewood)
        1550 Lincoln Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15208
        Mailing: 7114 Kelly Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15208
        P: 412-731-3020 | F: 412-731-1615
        • Sun: 11:30 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Sister Thea Bowman Catholic Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. David H. Taylor, Pastor
        Rev. Cajetan Anyanwu, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Charles Lwanga parish was established in 1992 as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by the merger of Holy Rosary, Mother of Good Counsel, Corpus Christi, Our Lady Help of Christians, Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament, and Ss. Peter and Paul parishes.  Of the six churches, Ss. Peter and Paul and Our Lady Help of Christians were closed and later sold.  Corpus Christi was converted to a Pastoral Center.  Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament was later closed on February 18, 1996, due to financial considerations.  The building was sold soon afterwards. 

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Former Corpus Christi Church, now used as a pastoral center, 2002
        Altar of the former Corpus Christi Church, 2002
        Holy Rosary Church, 2002
        Interior of Holy Rosary Church, 2002
        Mother of Good Counsel Church, 2002
        Altar of Mother of Good Counsel Church, 2002
      • Saint Charles Lwanga - Mother of Good Counsel Church (Homewood)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Charles Lwanga - Mother of Good Counsel Church (Homewood)
        7705 Bennett Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15208
        Mailing: 7114 Kelly Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15208
        P: 412-731-3020 | F: 412-731-1615
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English
        • TuTh 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Sister Thea Bowman Catholic Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. David H. Taylor, Pastor
        Rev. Cajetan Anyanwu, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Charles Lwanga parish was established in 1992 as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization program.  The parish was formed by the merger of Holy Rosary, Mother of Good Counsel, Corpus Christi, Our Lady Help of Christians, Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament, and Ss. Peter and Paul parishes.  Of the six churches, Ss. Peter and Paul and Our Lady Help of Christians were closed and later sold.  Corpus Christi was converted to a Pastoral Center.  Our Lady of the Most Blessed Sacrament was later closed on February 18, 1996, due to financial considerations.  The building was sold soon afterwards. 

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Former Corpus Christi Church, now used as a pastoral center, 2002
        Altar of the former Corpus Christi Church, 2002
        Holy Rosary Church, 2002
        Interior of Holy Rosary Church, 2002
        Mother of Good Counsel Church, 2002
        Altar of Mother of Good Counsel Church, 2002
      • Saint Christopher (Prospect)
        Prospect
        X
        Saint Christopher (Prospect)
        229 North Franklin Street, Prospect, PA, 16052-3111
        P: 724-865-2430 | F: 724-865-1120
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • Mon: 6:00 PM English English
        • Tu Th F 9:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM 12:00 PM
        • Mon: 6:30 PM
        • Tu Th F 9:30 AM
        • Sat: 5:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Joseph E. Feltz, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Christopher was established in 1974.  The origin of the parish, however, can be traced back to 1944.  Before that time, the small community of local Catholics had to travel to Butler, Slippery Rock or Zelienople for Mass.  In 1944, some local Catholics approached the pastor of St. Gregory in Zelienople about celebrating Mass in Prospect.  The bishop gave permission for St. Gregory to establish the mission.  The first Mass in Prospect was celebrated on November 26,1944, in a private home.  Until the next summer, a priest traveled from Zelienople twice a month to celebrate Mass.  This was discontinued on August 19, 1945, when the home where the Mass was celebrated was sold.

        In January of 1946, the pastor of St. Paul, Butler, requested permission to revive the mission in Prospect.  Permission being given, Mass was celebrated in a closed school building beginning on February 17, 1946.  Land for a church was purchased on December 8, 1948.  In 1949, St. Paul tore down the "white building," a building that had variously been used as a church, youth center and social hall.  St. Paul donated the lumber from the building for a church for St. Christopher.  A parishioner of St. Christopher took charge of constructing a church, which was built with volunteer labor.  The completed structure was dedicated on July 16,1952. 

        In 1974, the parish was formally established and a resident pastor assigned.  The church was later renovated in the mid 1980's.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Christopher Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Christopher, 2002
      • Saint Clare of Assisi (Clairton)
        Clairton
        X
        Saint Clare of Assisi (Clairton)
        460 Reed Street, Clairton, PA, 15025-1727
        P: 412-233-7870 | F: 412-233-0742
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Mon: 7:00 PM English English
        • TuF 8:00 AM English English
        • Mon: 7:30 PM
        • Sat: 12:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Charles Baptiste, Pastor
        Rev. Fortunatus Mugisha, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Clare was formed in 1994 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization.  The parish was formed by merging the three parishes then existing in Clairton: St. Clare of Assisi, St. Joseph and St. Paulinus.  St. Clare of Assisi Church was closed after the merger, but St. Joseph and St. Paulinus remained open and continued to serve the new parish.  But it quickly became obvious that the parish could not support two church buildings.  On September 8, 2007, the parish received permission to close St. Paulinus Church from the diocese and celebrated the final Mass in the church on September 30.  St. Joseph Church was renamed St. Clare of Assisi.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Clare of Assisi Church, the former St. Joseph Church, 2002
      • Saint Colman (Turtle Creek)
        Turtle Creek
        X
        Saint Colman (Turtle Creek)
        100 Tri-Boro Avenue, Turtle Creek, PA, 15145-1966
        P: 412-823-2564 | F: 412-823-6436
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 5:30 PM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        East Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. James E. Kunkel, Pastor
        Deacon Herbert E. Riley Jr.

        Parish History

        St. Colman was established in 1882.  The parish was formed to meet the needs of the small Catholic community of Turtle Creek and the surrounding area.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated in a local public school.  Later, Masses were offered in Black's Hall.  The parish purchased land and soon afterwards built a frame church.  The date of the church's construction is not known.  In 1887, the church was modified to enable the parish to open a school by converting the lower floor of the building to four classrooms.

        With the growth of industry in the area, the congregation began to grow.  In 1889, the congregation decided that a new church was needed.  Ground for a new church was broken in 1900.  The cornerstone was laid on June 2, 1901, and the completed church was dedicated on May 10. 1903.  The old church was converted to a school.  It was torn down in 1928 to make room for a new school.

        The church served the parish for 70 years.  By 1975, the church was in need of extensive repairs and renovation.  The parish initiated a study that year to determine whether the church should be repaired or a new church built.  A fire in the church on January 4, 1976, followed by a lightning strike on the building a few months later decided the issue.  Demolition of the church began in March of 1977.  While the church was being torn down and a new church built on the site, Masses were moved to the school.

        Ground for the new church was broken on May 1, 1977, and the cornerstone was laid on October 16, 1977.  The completed church was dedicated on May 14, 1978.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second St. Colman Church, 1933
      • Saint Columbkille (Imperial)
        Imperial
        X
        Saint Columbkille (Imperial)
        103 Church Road, Imperial, PA, 15126-1299
        P: 724-695-7325 | F: 724-695-9202
        • Sat: 6:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:00 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M Th F 8:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:15 PM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Paul W. Merkovsky, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Columbkille was established in 1908.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to the rise of the Imperial district in the 1890's and 1900's.  The first Mass celebrated in Imperial took place in a private residence in 1897.  For the next eight years, the area was infrequently visited by priests from nearby parishes who celebrated Mass in private homes or halls in Imperial.  In 1905, the pastor of St. John, Monaca established a mission in Imperial and began work on a church, which was dedicated on August 15, 1905.  Mass was offered in the church once a month.

        By 1908 the population of the Imperial area had grown to the point that the community could support an independent parish.  The parish was established in August of 1908.  By the mid 1940's the congregation had outgrown its church.  Not only was the church too small, but it was also in need of major repairs.  Rather than renovate the church, the parish sold the building with the understanding that it would be removed.  Until a new church could be built, the parish hall, a former school building, was converted to a temporary church.  Work on a combined church and school building began in the early 1950's.  The completed building was dedicated on August 16, 1953.  The hall, which had served as the temporary church, was later torn down in 1958.

        The church was renovated in the mid-1960's.  Additional improvements were made in 1982, 1985 and 1989.  The church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Columbkille Church, 1940
        Interior of first church, 1940
        Second St. Columbkille Church, 1940
        St. Columbkille Church, 2002
      • Saint Cyril of Alexandria (Brighton Heights)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Cyril of Alexandria (Brighton Heights)
        3854 Brighton Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212-1602
        P: 412-761-1552 | F: 412-761-3318
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 7:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM
        • Sun: 9:30 AM to 11:00 AM 3rd Sunday of the month only

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Northside Catholic School (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. James L. Bruney, Pastor
        Rev. Lawrence R. Smith, In Residence
        Rev. Clement Kanu, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Cyril of Alexandria was established on June 4, 1924.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the growth of population in Brighton Heights following World War I.  Before the parish was founded, local Catholics traveled to either St. Leo or St. Francis Xavier to attend Mass.  As the population grew, the desire for an independent parish also grew.  In 1924, 131 Catholics signed a petition to the bishop requesting their own parish.

        For the first twenty weeks of the parish's existence, Sunday Mass was celebrated in different private homes.  Ground for a new church was broken on October 12, 1924.  The first Mass in the church was celebrated on Christmas Day of 1924 and the building was dedicated on January 18, 1925.

        On August 3, 1952, fire struck the church.  Before the building could be completely repaired, another fire struck, on September 15, 1953, causing extensive damage.  After the last fire, a decision was made to build a new church.  Ground for the new church was broken in the spring of 1954.  The cornerstone was laid on June 13, 1954, and the completed building was dedicated on December 12, 1954.  The old church was converted to a hall and classrooms and used by the school.  That building was eventually torn down in 1966.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Cyril Church, 1933
        Interior of first church, 1933
        Current St. Cyril Church, 2002
        Altar of current church, 2002
      • Saint Damien of Molokai (Monongahela)
        Monongahela
        X
        Saint Damien of Molokai (Monongahela)
        722 West Main Street, Monongahela, PA, 15063-2898
        P: 724-258-7742 | F: 724-258-8733
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Tue: 8:30 AM to 9:00 AM
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:30 PM
        • Wed: 7:00 PM to 8:00 PM 3rd Wednesday of the month only
        • Fri: 12:00 PM to 6:00 PM in the chapel

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Afflilated School:

        Madonna Catholic Regional School

        Clergy:

        Rev. William R. Terza, Pastor
        Deacon Alexander J. Poroda II

        Parish History

        St. Damien of Molokai Parish was formed on August 15, 2011 through the merger of St. Anthony Parish and Transfiguration Parish in Monongahela.  The merger was the result of a two year study that began in October of 2007 to look at the future of the Church in the region. The study considered the demographics, spiritual needs, financial stability and an assessment of the parish buildings in Monongahela.  This study recommended the merger of the two parishes in Monongahela. The bishop accepted this recommendation and on August 15, 2011 St. Anthony Parish and Transfiguration Parish in Monongahela merged to form the new St. Damien of Molokai Parish. The new parish kept both churches open pending a two year study to determine if the parish needed to maintain both churches.

        The study determined that it was not feasible for the parish to maintain two church buildings. However, the parish was unable to come to a consensus as to which of the two churches should remain open.The parish then asked the bishop to make the final decision and, after inviting feedback from the individual parishioners, he decided to keep Transfiguration Church open and to close St. Anthony Church. St. Anthony was formally closed on April 28, 2014 and Transfiguration Church renamed St. Damien of Molokai.

      • Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton (Carnegie)
        Carnegie
        X
        Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton (Carnegie)
        330 3rd Avenue, Carnegie, PA, 15106-2519
        P: 412-276-1011 | F: 412-276-0816
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • M W F 12:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. David Poecking, Pastor
        Rev. Robin Evanish, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Elizabeth Ann Seton was established in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization project.  The parish was formed by the merger of six existing parishes: St. Luke, St. Joseph, Immaculate Conception, St. Ignatius de Loyola and Holy Souls in Carnegie and St. Vincent de Paul in Walkers Mill.  Of the six churches, three  St. Joseph, Immaculate Conception and St. Vincent de Paul ― were closed.  St. Joseph Church was razed and Immaculate Conception and St. Vincent de Paul were sold.  After the merger, the other three churches, Holy Souls, St. Ignatius de Loyola and St. Luke, remained open and continued to serve the new parish.

        This situation changed on September 17, 2004 when heavy rains caused by Hurricane Ivan caused severe flooding in Carnegie.  The flooding struck two of the three churches of the parish, Holy Souls and St. Luke, causing them to be closed and leaving St. Ignatius Church as the only usable church.  Rather than immediately beginning repair work on the two churches, the parish decided to study their situation and determine how many church buildings they needed to serve the congregation.  The first decision made was to not reopen Holy Souls Church.  On December 30, 2005, the parish formally petitioned the diocese for permission to close the church and put it up for sale.  This permission was granted on February 27, 2006 and the building was sold on September 13, 2006 to the Carnegie Community Development Corporation.  The parish later decided that it only needed one church, but that a renovated and repaired St. Luke Church was the building they needed.  Renovation on St. Luke began on October 16, 2010.  The interior of the church was turned around 180 degrees and completely renovated.  Only three walls, the roof and stained glass windows of the original architecture of the church were preserved. The renovated church was dedicated on November 20, 2011 as St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Church.  The parish then suspended Masses at St. Ignatius Church on November 26, 2011.  The parish then began making plans to sell the closed St. Ignatius Church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ignatius Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Ignatius, 2002
        St. Luke Church, 2002
      • Saint Elizabeth of Hungary - Saint David Church (Willock)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Elizabeth of Hungary - Saint David Church (Willock)
        5113 Springdale Drive, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236
        Mailing: 1 Grove Place, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236
        P: 412-882-8744 | F: 412-882-8320
        • Sun: 10:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Elizabeth of Hungary School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Dale E. DeNinno, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Elizabeth was established in 1941.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the movement of population to Pleasant Hills in the late 1930's.  Catholics in Pleasant Hills had to travel to the small church of St. David in Willock to attend Mass.  As the population in Pleasant Hills continued to grow, it soon caused overcrowding in St. David.  Rather than building a larger church in Willock, the pastor of St. David proposed to the bishop in 1941 that a church be built in Pleasant Hills.  The bishop agreed and chose the name St. Elizabeth for the new parish (Elizabeth was chosen because it was the name of the pastor's mother).  Land for the new church was purchased in 1941 and on May 24, 1942, ground was broken for a school that would contain a temporary church in the basement.  The building was completed in December of 1942 and the first Mass in the new church was celebrated on Christmas Day.

        Before the church was built, St. Elizabeth was a mission of St. David.  Once the church was built, the two churches reversed status with St. David becoming a mission of St. Elizabeth.  In September of 1943, the school opened with three classrooms.  In 1944, three more classrooms were added and in 1948, an additional six classrooms were added to the building.

        In 1951, work began on a new church.  The finished building was dedicated on November 16, 1952.  The space in the school building that had been used as the church was converted to class space.  In 1973, the status of St. David was changed from a mission to a Chapel of Convenience.  Both churches remain open and continue to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        School building that served as the first St. Elizabeth Church, 1943
        St. Elizabeth Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Elizabeth Church, 2002
        St. David Chapel, 2002
      • Saint Elizabeth of Hungary - Saint Elizabeth of Hungary Church (Pleasant Hills)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Elizabeth of Hungary - Saint Elizabeth of Hungary Church (Pleasant Hills)
        1 Grove Place, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236-2313
        P: 412-882-8744 | F: 412-882-8320
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 10:30 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 7:00 PM English English
        • MF 6:30 AM English English 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 10:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:45 AM
        • Thu: 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM 1st Thursday of the month only

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Elizabeth of Hungary School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Dale E. DeNinno, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Elizabeth was established in 1941.  The origin of the parish can be traced to the movement of population to Pleasant Hills in the late 1930's.  Catholics in Pleasant Hills had to travel to the small church of St. David in Willock to attend Mass.  As the population in Pleasant Hills continued to grow, it soon caused overcrowding in St. David.  Rather than building a larger church in Willock, the pastor of St. David proposed to the bishop in 1941 that a church be built in Pleasant Hills.  The bishop agreed and chose the name St. Elizabeth for the new parish (Elizabeth was chosen because it was the name of the pastor's mother).  Land for the new church was purchased in 1941 and on May 24, 1942, ground was broken for a school that would contain a temporary church in the basement.  The building was completed in December of 1942 and the first Mass in the new church was celebrated on Christmas Day.

        Before the church was built, St. Elizabeth was a mission of St. David.  Once the church was built, the two churches reversed status with St. David becoming a mission of St. Elizabeth.  In September of 1943, the school opened with three classrooms.  In 1944, three more classrooms were added and in 1948, an additional six classrooms were added to the building.

        In 1951, work began on a new church.  The finished building was dedicated on November 16, 1952.  The space in the school building that had been used as the church was converted to class space.  In 1973, the status of St. David was changed from a mission to a Chapel of Convenience.  Both churches remain open and continue to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        School building that served as the first St. Elizabeth Church, 1943
        St. Elizabeth Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Elizabeth Church, 2002
        St. David Chapel, 2002
      • Saint Felix (Freedom)
        Freedom
        X
        Saint Felix (Freedom)
        450 13th Street, Freedom, PA, 15042-1899
        P: 724-775-1476 | F: 724-775-5684
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 11:00 AM English English
        • MTh 9:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Paul Kuppe, OFM Cap, Pastor
        Rev. William Talentino, OFM Cap, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Felix was established in 1906.  Little is known about the origin of the parish.  Work on the church began that same year.  The cornerstone was laid on September 23, 1906, and the building was dedicated on May 26, 1907.  This church still serves the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Felix Church, 1935
        Interior of Church, 1935
        St Felix Church, 2002
      • Saint Ferdinand (Cranberry Township)
        Cranberry Township
        X
        Saint Ferdinand (Cranberry Township)
        2535 Rochester Road, Cranberry Township, PA, 16066-6496
        P: 724-776-2888 | F: 724-776-2378
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 5:00 PM English English
        • M F 6:30 AM English English
        • MSa 8:30 AM English English
        • TuTh 7:00 PM English English
        • 1st Fri: 7:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 10:00 AM 7:00 PM
        • Fri: 9:00 AM to 10:00 AM

        Clergy:

        Rev. John P. Gallagher, Pastor
        Rev. Andrew C. Fischer, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Ferdinand was established in 1961.  The history of the parish can be traced back to January 20, 1960, when a mission of St. Alphonsus, Wexford was established in Cranberry Township to minister to the growing community.  The first Mass in the area was celebrated in a local restaurant on January 24, 1960.  After a year, the location for celebrating Mass moved to a local fire hall. 

        On May 31, 1961, the parish was formally established and a resident pastor was assigned.  The new parish continued to use the fire hall.  In October 1961, ground was broken for a parish rectory, which was completed in 1962.  Beginning on June 3, 1962, Sunday Mass was moved from the fire hall to the rectory.  In 1963, plans were drawn up for a building that would hold the parish hall, CCD classes and a temporary church.  Ground for the building was broken on March 8, 1964.  The first Mass in the new building was celebrated on April 18, 1965, and the completed building was dedicated on February 20, 1966.

        This church served the community for over 20 years.  However, the rapid growth of the area in the 1980's made a larger church necessary.  Ground for a new church was broken on October 8, 1989, and the completed church was dedicated on December 23, 1990.  The former church was converted into a recreation center.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ferdinand Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Fidelis of Sigmaringen - Saint Conrad Church (Meridian)
        Butler
        X
        Saint Fidelis of Sigmaringen - Saint Conrad Church (Meridian)
        125 Buttercup Rd, Butler, PA, 16001
        P: 724-482-2690 | F: 724-482-2315
        • Sat: 6:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 6:30 PM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Butler Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. William D. Wuenschel, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen was established on September 9, 1995.  The parish was created by the merger of St. John and St. Stanislaus Kostka in Lyndora and St. Conrad in Meridian.  The new parish closed the St. John Church, but retained the other two church buildings.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Conrad Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Conrad Church, 2002
        St. Stanislaus Kostka Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Stanislaus Church, 2002
      • Saint Fidelis of Sigmaringen - Saint Stanislaus Kostka Church (Lyndora)
        Lyndora
        X
        Saint Fidelis of Sigmaringen - Saint Stanislaus Kostka Church (Lyndora)
        301 Penn Ave, Lyndora, PA, 16045
        Mailing: 125 Buttercup Road, Butler, PA, 16001
        P: 724-482-2690 | F: 724-287-5531
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Tu Th 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Butler Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. William D. Wuenschel, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen was established on September 9, 1995.  The parish was created by the merger of St. John and St. Stanislaus Kostka in Lyndora and St. Conrad in Meridian.  The new parish closed the St. John Church, but retained the other two church buildings.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Conrad Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Conrad Church, 2002
        St. Stanislaus Kostka Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Stanislaus Church, 2002
      • Saint Frances Cabrini (Center Township)
        Aliquippa
        X
        Saint Frances Cabrini (Center Township)
        115 Trinity Drive, Aliquippa, PA, 15001-1496
        P: 724-775-6363 | F: 724-775-3848
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English 6:00 PM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Tu Th 6:30 PM English English
        • Tu Th 6:00 PM to 6:30 PM 7:00 PM
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Martin R. Bartel, OSB, Pastor
        Rev. Regis R. Alberth, In Residence
        Deacon Joseph N. Basko

        Parish History

        St. Frances Cabrini was established on May 24, 1961.  The first Mass in the parish was held in a private home on June 4, 1961.  This home was used for two weeks then Sunday Masses were celebrated in the Center Bowling Lanes until the church was built.  Work on a combined church/school building began on April 14, 1963.  Work on the building was completed in December of 1963 and the first Mass was celebrated in the new church on December 22, 1963.  The church was formally dedicated on July 19, 1964.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Frances Cabrini Church, 2002
        Altar of St. Frances Cabrini, 2002
         
      • Saint Francis of Assisi (Finleyville)
        Finleyville
        X
        Saint Francis of Assisi (Finleyville)
        3609 Washington Avenue, Finleyville, PA, 15332-1395
        P: 724-348-7145 | F: 724-348-7522
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MSa 8:30 AM English English
        • MSa 9:00 AM
        • Sat: 12:30 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert J. Boyle, Administrator
        Rev. Richard J. Tusky, Senior Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Victor P. Satter

        Parish History

        St. Francis was founded in 1893.  In that year a mission church was established by the pastor of St. Michael, Elizabeth in the nearby town of Gastonville.  The new mission was visited once a month for Mass.  In 1903, responsibility for St. Francis was transferred to Holy Angels, Hays.  In July 1904, St. Francis became an independent parish with the arrival of the first resident pastor.

        The new pastor determined that the growing congregation needed a larger church.  Property was acquired in Finleyville for the new church.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on May 15, 1907, and the completed church was dedicated on November 3, 1907.  Although the church has been renovated several times over the years, it continued to serve the congregation for many decades.  However, by 1972 the congregation had outgrown its church.  In that year the parish moved their weekend Masses from the church into the newly built all purpose Finley Hall.  They continued to use the church for weekday Masses and for services that tended to attract relatively few people, such as baptisms, weddings and funerals.

        This situation continued for over 35 years.  Finally, on August 9, 2009, the parish broke ground for a new 700 seat church.  Work progressed rapidly and the new church was dedicated on May 16, 2010.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Francis, 1932
        Interior of St. Francis, 1932
        St. Francis, 2002
        Interior of St. Francis, 2002
      • Saint Gabriel of the Sorrowful Virgin (Whitehall)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Gabriel of the Sorrowful Virgin (Whitehall)
        5200 Greenridge Drive, Pittsburgh, PA, 15236-1798
        P: 412-881-8115 | F: 412-440-0160
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English 4:30 PM English English
        • MF 7:30 AM English English
        • M F Sa 11:30 AM English English
        • Tu Th 8:45 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Sat: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Gabriel of the Sorrowful Virgin School

        Clergy:

        Rev. John W. Skirtich, Administrator
        Rev. Michael S. Suslowicz, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. John R. Haney, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Gabriel was established in 1944.  The parish was the end result of the growth of population in the suburban community of Whitehall, then called either Baldwin Manor or Baldwin Township.  On September 12, 1944, a group of local Catholics met to discuss ways to form a local parish.  As a result of the meeting, they sent a petition to the bishop for their own parish. While waiting for this permission, they acquired land for a church and school.  On November 25, 1944, the bishop assigned a pastor to the new, and yet unnamed, parish.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated on December 8, 1944, in the chapel of the Sisters of St. Francis.  Subsequent Masses were celebrated at St. Francis Academy.

        On January 29, 1945, the congregation requested permission to name the new parish St. Gabriel.  Permission was granted on March 6.  For several years the parish engaged in fund raising for a new church and school.  In the spring of 1949, ground was broken for a school building that would also contain a temporary church in the basement.  The cornerstone of the new building was laid on Mother's Day in 1949.  The school opened in September of 1949 and the first Mass was celebrated on January 1, 1950.

        The parish soon outgrew its original building and work on an addition to the original building began in August of 1953.  The completed addition was dedicated on October 10, 1954.  Even with this addition, the school again quickly ran out of room.  On December 1, 1957, ground was broken for the foundation and basement of a church.  The basement was completed and the first Mass in the new structure was celebrated on February 27, 1959.

        In 1974, the parish drew up plans to complete the church structure begun in 1957.  Work began in 1975 and the completed church was dedicated on April 23, 1976.  This church serves the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Gabriel Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Gerard Majella (Penn Hills)
        Verona
        X
        Saint Gerard Majella (Penn Hills)
        121 Dawn Drive, Verona, PA, 15147-2999
        P: 412-793-3333 | F: 412-793-4726
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English
        • TuTh 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 6:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 6

        Clergy:

        Rev. Martin F. Barkin, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Gerard Majella was established on May 27, 1964.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated the next day in a house that was converted to a chapel and catechetical center.  Sunday Masses were celebrated in the North Bessemer Community Volunteer Fire Hall.  In August of that year, plans were drawn up for a combined church and catechetical center.  Ground for the new building was broken on January 29, 1966, and construction of the building began in April of 1966.  The first Mass in the new church was celebrated on June 25, 1967.  The church was formally dedicated on January 28, 1968.  The church was later renovated in 1978.  This building continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Gerard Majella church/catechetical center, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint Germaine (Bethel Park)
        Bethel Park
        X
        Saint Germaine (Bethel Park)
        7003 Baptist Road, Bethel Park, PA, 15102-3905
        P: 412-833-0661 | F: 412-833-4036
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 10:30 AM English English
        • Tue: 8:00 AM English English
        • Thu: 8:00 AM English English June-August 7:00 PM English English September-May
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM
        • 1st Fri: 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. John J. Baver, Pastor
        Deacon James A. Kenny
        Deacon Robert Stein

        Parish History

        St. Germaine was established on June 13, 1957.  The parish was created to meet the needs of the growing suburban community of Bethel Park.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated in South Park in the Flower Garden Hall.  This building was used by the congregation for Sunday Masses until the parish church was built. 

        In February of 1958 work began on a school building that would include a temporary church.  The cornerstone was laid on November 23, 1958, and the completed building was dedicated on June 13, 1959.  The church portion of the building was intended to be a temporary expedient until the parish debts could be paid off and additional funds raised for a separate church building.  However, a study by the parish in 1975 proved that building a new church would not practical.  Instead, the parish decided to renovate the existing church facility into a permanent church.  The renovation began on November 2, 1978, and the work was done on June 20, 1979.  The new church was blessed on November 11, 1979.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Germaine Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Gregory - Saint Gregory Church (Zelienople)
        Zelienople
        X
        Saint Gregory - Saint Gregory Church (Zelienople)
        2 West Beaver Street, Zelienople, PA, 16063-1599
        P: 724-452-7245 | F: 724-452-4064
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • M Tu 8:00 AM English English
        • Thu: 6:00 PM English English
        • Fri: 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM
        • Thu: 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Gregory School

        Clergy:

        Rev. James G. Young, Administrator
        Deacon Donald Pepe

        Parish History

        St. Gregory was founded in 1906.  The impetus for the establishment of the parish was the growth in population of Zelienople in the prior ten years.  Before the parish was founded, priests visited the area from either Butler or Herman and celebrated Mass in private homes.  Construction of a church began in 1906.  While the church was under construction, Mass was celebrated in a local school.  On September 30, 1906, the new church was dedicated.

        In 1919, the church was enlarged with the addition of a bell tower, vestibule and choir loft.  The church was remodeled again in 1938 with the installation of stained glass windows and an organ.

        On May 15, 1966, ground was broken for a new church.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on October 13, 1967 and the completed church was dedicated on December 10, 1967.  The last Mass in the old church was celebrated on September 15, 1967.  The church was torn down shortly afterwards.

        As time went on, the population of the area began a steady decline.  By the early twenty-first century, the area could no longer support the number of parishes in existence.  On July 1, 2016, St. Gregory Parish absorbed the nearby St. Matthias Parish, Evans City.  Both churches remained open after the merger.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Gregory Church, 1931
        St. Gregory Church, 2002
      • Saint Gregory - Saint Matthias Church (Evans City)
        Evans City
        X
        Saint Gregory - Saint Matthias Church (Evans City)
        417 East Main Street, Evans City, PA, 16033
        Mailing: 2 West Beaver Street, Zelienople, PA, 16063
        P: 724-452-7245 | F: 724-452-4064
        • Sun: 9:45 AM English English
        • Wed: 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 3

        Afflilated School:

        Saint Gregory School

        Clergy:

        Rev. James G. Young, Administrator
        Deacon Donald Pepe

        Parish History

        St. Matthias was established in 1939.  The driving force behind the formation of the parish was the pastor of St. Gregory parish, Zelienople.  He saw a need for a church in Evans City to serve the people of that community.  On March 19, 1939, an empty Methodist Episcopal Church was purchased and renovated for use as a parish church.  The church was dedicated on May 30, 1939. 

        The church was a mission of St. Gregory until 1946 when a resident pastor was assigned to the parish.  In 1968 the church was renovated and enlarged. 

        As time went on, however, the population of the area began to steadily decline.  By the early twenty-first century, the area could no longer support the number of churches in existence.  On July 1, 2016, St. Matthias Parish was absorbed by St. Gregory parish, Zelienople.  St. Matthias Church remained open after the merger.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Matthias Church, 1940
        St. Matthias Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Hilary (Washington)
        Washington
        X
        Saint Hilary (Washington)
        320 Henderson Avenue, Washington, PA, 15301-1997
        P: 724-222-4087 | F: 724-222-2130
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:30 AM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 1:00 PM to 1:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 4

        Clergy:

        Rev. Carmen D’Amico, Administrator
        Rev. Thomas D. O'Neil, In Residence

        Parish History

        St. Hilary was founded in 1919 as a Polish ethnic parish.  In July of 1919, the bishop granted permission to a group of Poles in Washington to form a new parish.  On October 23, 1919, a resident pastor was assigned to the parish.  At first Mass was celebrated in a rented building.  In 1920 work was begun on a new church.  The cornerstone was laid on December 12, 1920, and the completed building was dedicated on September 5, 1921.

        In 1954, St. Hilary became a territorial parish.  Due to the growth of the congregation, ground was broken for a new church on March 13, 1966.  The completed church was dedicated on May 30, 1967.  The original church was subsequently torn down.  Beginning in 1991, the interior of the church underwent major renovation.  This church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Hilary Church, circa 1944
        Main altar of first church, circa 1944
        Side altar of first church, circa 1944
        Side altar of first church, circa 1944
        St. Hilary Church, 2002
      • Saint Hugh (Carmichaels)
        Carmichaels
        X
        Saint Hugh (Carmichaels)
        408 Route 88, Carmichaels, PA, 15320-1134
        P: 724-966-7270 | F: 724-966-9118
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM to 11:30 AM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        St. Hugh was founded in 1951.  Before the parish was founded, Catholics in Carmichaels attended Our Lady of Consolation in Nemacolin.  By the early 50's, the population of Carmichaels had grown enough to support a mission.  In July of 1951, St. Hugh was formed as a mission of Our Lady of Consolation.  The first Mass of the new mission was celebrated in the closed Lund Theater.  

        On June 26, 1952, St. Hugh became an independent parish with the assignment of a resident pastor.  The new parish continued to use the theater for Sunday Mass.  On May 23, 1954, ground was broken for a church.  The cornerstone was laid on September 26, 1954, and the completed church was dedicated on February 19, 1955.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Hugh, 1966
      • Saint Ignatius of Antioch (Bobtown)
        Bobtown
        X
        Saint Ignatius of Antioch (Bobtown)
        305 Grant Street, Bobtown, PA, 15315-0063
        Mailing: PO Box 63, Bobtown, PA, 15315-0063
        P: 724-839-7122 | F: 724-839-7315
        • Sun: 4:00 PM English English
        • Tu Th 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. J. Francis Frazer, Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. John M. Bauer, Team Ministry
        Deacon Thomas W. Raymond, Deacon Administrator
        Deacon Elbert A. Kuhns
        Deacon James M Sheil

        Parish History

        St. Ignatius was founded in 1928.  At the time of church's founding, Bobtown itself was only three years old, having been constructed by the Shanopin Coal Company beginning in 1925.  At that time, catechism teachers from the Mission Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) had been regularly visiting the nearby town of Poland.  By 1928 construction of the town had advanced to the point that it was practical for the MCCD to organize a permanent catechism class on May 27 of that year.  On June 10, the first Mass was held in Bobtown in a hall over a bowling alley.

        The next year the coal company donated land for a church and ground was broken on June 24, 1929.  The cornerstone was laid on August 11, 1929 and the church was dedicated in October.  The parish remained in the care of the MCCD until July 20, 1937, when it became a mission of St. Hubert Church, Point Marion.  St. Ignatius remained a mission of St. Hubert until the Diocese of Greensburg was created on March 10, 1951.  As St. Hubert was in the new diocese, St. Ignatius again fell under the care of the MCCD.  Finally, on February 7, 1952, St. Ignatius became an independent parish.  A few years later, Holy Family Church in Greensboro became a mission of St. Ignatius.

        This church served the community for over 40 years.  However, faced with the need of making substantial changes to the building following the Second Vatican Council, the parish decided that it would be better to build a new church.  Groundbreaking for the new church took place on February 10, 1974 on land donated by the Jones & Laughlin Steel Corporation.  The completed church was dedicated on April 20, 1975.  This church still serves the community today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Ignatius Church, 1932
        Interior of first church, 1932
        St. Ignatius Church, 2002
      • Saint Irenaeus (Oakmont)
        Oakmont
        X
        Saint Irenaeus (Oakmont)
        387 Maryland Avenue, Oakmont, PA, 15139-1692
        P: 412-828-3065 | F: 412-828-1587
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • TuTh 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 6

        Clergy:

        Rev. George R. Dalton, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Irenaeus was established in 1907.  Before the parish was founded, Catholics living in Oakmont had to travel to St. Joseph, Verona to attend Mass.  In 1906, a group of these Catholics petitioned the bishop for permission to form a parish.  In 1907, the bishop granted permission and assigned a priest to the new parish.  The parish purchased an existing church from the Episcopal St. Thomas parish and renovated it.  The church was dedicated in March of 1907. 

        The congregation continued to grow.  Recognizing that a new, larger church would eventually be needed, the pastor purchased additional land in December of 1921.  However, due to other financial commitments, work did not begin on a new church for three decades.  Not until May 25, 1952, was ground broken for the church.  The cornerstone was laid on December 17, 1952, and the completed church was dedicated on November 7, 1953.

        The church was renovated in 1981 and 1982.  The renovation included the installation of new stained glass windows.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. Irenaeus Church, 1933
        Interior of church, 1933
        Second St. Irenaeus Church, 2002
        Altar of second church, 2002
      • Saint Isaac Jogues (Elrama)
        Jefferson Hills
        X
        Saint Isaac Jogues (Elrama)
        1216 Collins Avenue, Jefferson Hills, PA, 15025-5300
        P: 412-384-4406 | F: 412-384-5740
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • Wed: 9:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Robert J. Boyle, Administrator
        Rev. Richard J. Tusky, Senior Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Isaac Jogues was established in 1950 as a mission of St. Michael, Elizabeth.  Before the parish was founded, local Catholics had to travel to Elizabeth to attend Mass.  Priests from St. Michael did travel to Elrama to conduct catechism classes for the children.  In 1948, the pastor of St. Michael contacted the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine to take over teaching catechism.  Attempts were made to find a space to conduct Mass, but none was available.  In January of 1949, at a meeting of local Catholics, the decision was made to build a church.

        Ground for the church was broken on May 9, 1949.  The completed church was dedicated on July 23, 1950.  For twenty years, the parish remained a mission of St. Michael.  In June of 1970, the parish became independent with the appointment of a resident pastor.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Isaac Jogues Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint James (Sewickley)
        Sewickley
        X
        Saint James (Sewickley)
        200 Walnut Street, Sewickley, PA, 15143-1529
        P: 412-741-6650 | F: 412-741-4782
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • M W F 6:45 AM English English
        • Tu Sa 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 9:30 AM to 10:30 AM
        • Sat: 9:30 AM to 10:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Saint James School, Sewickley (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas J. Burke, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. James was founded in 1863.  The small Catholic congregation in Sewickley consisted primarily of servants working for the wealthy residents of the town.  Beginning in 1847, the pastor of Ss. Peter and Paul, Beaver, visited Sewickley three or four times a year to celebrate Mass.  In 1863, he purchased a plot of ground and built a small frame church for the congregation of five families and about 40 servant girls.  With the new church, Mass was celebrated once a month.

        In 1868, St. James received a resident pastor.  One of the first things the new pastor did was to begin work on a new church.  On June 4, 1868, the cornerstone for the new church was laid.  However, on May 12, 1869, just weeks before work on the church was completed, the building collapsed.  The rubble was cleared away and work on another church began.  This church was dedicated on November 24, 1870.

        The church was renovated in the 1890's and in 1912.  The later renovation was so complete that the church was rededicated on December 7, 1912.  By the 1960's, plans were underway to build a new church.  Work on the church began on April 30, 1967 and the cornerstone was laid on October 29, 1967.  The last Mass in the old church and the first Mass in the new church occurred on July 25, 1968 and the church was dedicated on September 29, 1968.  On December 22, 1968, the old church was sold to St. Stephen Episcopal Church.

        The church built in 1968 continues to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second St. James Church, 1934
        Main altar of second church, 1934
        Side altar of second church, 1934
        St. James Church, 2002
        Altar of St. James, 2002
      • Saint James (Wilkinsburg)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint James (Wilkinsburg)
        718 Franklin Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15221-2990
        P: 412-241-1392 | F: 412-241-6625
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:00 AM English English
        • M W F 12:00 PM English English
        • M W F 11:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        Sister Thea Bowman Catholic Academy

        Clergy:

        Rev. David H. Taylor, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. James was founded in 1869.  Before that time, Catholic residents of Wilkinsburg attended Ss. Peter and Paul in the East End.  However, most of the residents spoke English and Ss. Peter and Paul was a German parish.  As a result, the pastor of Ss. Peter and Paul encouraged them to build their own church.  Land for the church was purchased on May 8, 1868.  Work on the church began soon afterwards and the completed church was dedicated on November 18, 1869.  In August of 1870, a resident pastor was assigned to St. James.

        This church lasted until the night of December 23, 1888, when a fire broke out in the church basement.  As Wilkinsburg had neither a fire department nor water supply at the time, the church burned to the ground.  The school was utilized as a temporary church while the new church was being constructed.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid on May 12, 1889, and the completed building was dedicated on December 22, 1889.

        This church served the congregation for forty years.  By the late 1920's, it became obvious that a new church was needed.  Construction of a new building began in February of 1928 and the completed church was dedicated on August 14, 1930.  The old church was converted to a gymnasium and classroom space.  The old church was eventually torn down in 1961.

        St. James church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second St. James Church, 1931
        Current St. James Church, 1931
        St. James Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint James the Apostle (New Bedford)
        Pulaski
        X
        Saint James the Apostle (New Bedford)
        4019 US 422, Pulaski, PA, 16143-2519
        P: 724-964-8276 | F: 724-964-1108
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English January, March, May, July, September and November only
        • Sun: 8:45 AM English English
        • Tue: 8:30 AM English English
        • Tue: 9:00 AM
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:30 PM January, March, May, July, September and November only

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 1

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Philip N. Farrell, Priest Director
        Deacon John J. Carran, Deacon Administrator

        Parish History

        St. James was established in April of 1949.  This church is a revival of an earlier St. James parish.  The original St. James was founded in 1847.  The origin of the that parish can be traced to 1838, when the first known Mass was celebrated in the town by a priest visiting from Pittsburgh.  These visits continued, irregularly at first, but eventually once a month.  Until 1847, Mass was celebrated in private homes.  In 1847 responsibility for New Bedford  passed to Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver.  The pastor of Ss. Peter and Paul built a church on donated land in New Bedford that was dedicated as St. James the Apostle.  In 1854, the mission transferred to St. Mary in New Castle.

        Other events were taking place at this time that would affect the parish.  The individual who donated the land for the church made an additional land donation for an orphanage, which is now Villa Maria.  A building for the orphans was erected and some were transferred from Pittsburgh, but the attempt was soon abandoned as impractical.  During the 1850's the land was sold to the Diocese of Cleveland.  The bishop of Cleveland sent the Sisters of Charity to open an orphanage.  This order was later replaced by the Sisters of the Humility of Mary.  St. James remained open and was still visited by priests from the Diocese of Pittsburgh until 1862.  After that, St. James became the responsibility of the Diocese of Cleveland.

        As New Castle and Youngstown began growing, people began drifting away from the New Bedford area.  The individuals who remained began attending services in the orphanage chapel.  St. James church was abandoned in 1873 and eventually was converted to classrooms.  At some point, the building was torn down.

        For decades, there was no church in New Bedford.  Only the chapel at Villa Maria served the local community.  Villa Maria, although located in Pennsylvania, continued to be part of the Diocese of Cleveland.

        In 1949, Villa Maria was transferred back to the Diocese of Pittsburgh.  On April 6, 1949, the parish of St. James was revived and a resident pastor assigned.  At first Mass was celebrated in the Villa Maria chapel.  On April 27, 1953, ground was broken for a new church.  The cornerstone was laid on June 18, 1953, and the completed church was dedicated on November 24, 1953. 

        By the 1980's, the congregation had outgrown the original building.  An new addition to the existing building was constructed to serve as the church in 1987.  The original church was then converted to a social hall.  This church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. James Church, 2002
      • Saint Januarius (Plum)
        Plum
        X
        Saint Januarius (Plum)
        1450 Renton Road, Plum, PA, 15239-1534
        P: 412-793-4439 | F: 412-793-7135
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:00 AM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. John McKenna, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. Januarius was established in 1925 as a mission of the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD).  The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who did not have easy access to an existing church.  The first Mass in the new parish was celebrated on the last Sunday of November of 1925 in the second floor of a store in town.  Until 1945, Mass was celebrated only once a month.  Beginning in 1945, Mass was celebrated weekly.  In October of 1946, St. Januarius became a mission of the Superintendent of St. Anthony Village.

        All through this time, the parish continued to use the rented space in the store.  By 1950, the parish decided to build a church.  The first attempt to build a church quickly fell short.  On Easter Sunday of 1950, work on a church began.  After the foundation was laid, however, the parish decided that the chosen site had drawbacks that led the church to abandon it.  A new start was made on August 25, 1951.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid on March 23, 1952.  The first Mass to be celebrated in the new church took place on November 30, 1952, even though the interior of the church was not yet finished.  Lack of funds delayed the completion of the church until 1959.  The church was formally dedicated on October 9, 1960.

        The parish became independent in 1973.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        The commercial building used as the parish's first church.  The open door at the left of the entrance leads to the church, 1952.
        Interior of the first church, 1949.
        Laying of the cornerstone of the new church, March 23, 1952.
        Second St. Januarius Church, 1960.
        Interior of current church, 1952.
        St. Januarius, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint Joan of Arc (Library)
        South Park
        X
        Saint Joan of Arc (Library)
        6414 Montour Street, South Park, PA, 15129-9514
        P: 412-833-2400 | F: 412-835-1764
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MW 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 12:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Phillip P. Pribonic, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Joan of Arc was established on June 30, 1949.  The origin of the parish can be traced back to January 1, 1923, when the pastor of St. Francis of Assisi, Finleyville, established a mission in Library.  Until a church could be built, Sunday Masses were celebrated in the Union Hotel.  In the summer of 1924, land was purchased for a church and a prefabricated building was purchased to serve as the new church.  The first Mass in the church was celebrated on September 8, 1924, and the church was formally dedicated on October 19, 1924.

        The growth of the congregation led to the bishop making St. Joan an independent parish in 1949.  The next year, the parish purchased additional land.  Within a few years, the parish decided that they needed not only a new, larger church, but also a school.  In 1954 work began on a combined church/school building.  The cornerstone was laid in December of 1954 and the church was dedicated in 1955.  The old church was converted to a parish hall for two decades.  Finally, on March 22, 1976, the parish destroyed the old church by burning it down.  The combined church and school building continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Joan of Arc Church/school building, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint John Capistran (Upper Saint Clair)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint John Capistran (Upper Saint Clair)
        1610 McMillan Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15241-2608
        P: 412-221-6275 | F: 412-257-3789
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 4:15 PM to 4:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 3

        Clergy:

        Rev. James J. Chepponis, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. John Capistran was established on December 30, 1968.  However, the origin of the parish can be traced back to 1914,  when the area was called Beadling.  In that year the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD) visited the community to determine the number of Catholics in the area.  The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who did not have easy access to an existing church.  Based on this visit, the MCCD established a mission on May 16, 1915.  At first, the MCCD only conducted catechism classes in commercial buildings.  By 1923, the MCCD determined that there was a need for a chapel in the area.  Work on the chapel was completed that year and the building was dedicated on December 23, 1923.  The chapel was then made a mission of St. Agatha in Bridgeville.  From 1923 until 1938, Mass was celebrated once a month.  Beginning in 1938, Mass was celebrated weekly.

        St. John Capistran remained a mission of St. Agatha until 1947.  In that year it became a mission of the new parish of Our Lady of Grace.  In 1953 the parish purchased the McMillan public school and remodeled it into a church.  The new church was dedicated on February 22, 1953.  The old church was converted to classrooms and later renovated into a CCD center.  Eventually the original church building was torn down.

        On December 30, 1968, St. John Capistran became an independent parish.  On February 6, 1972, ground was broken for a new church.  The first Mass in the new church was celebrated on Christmas Day, 1972.  The church was officially dedicated on February 4, 1973.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. John Capistran Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint John Fisher (Churchill)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint John Fisher (Churchill)
        33 Lewin Lane, Pittsburgh, PA, 15235-5099
        P: 412-241-4722 | F: 412-241-4653
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MSa 8:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 8:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        East Catholic School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Carl J. Gentile, Administrator

        Parish History

        St. John Fisher parish was established on May 31, 1960.  The parish was founded in response to the growth of population in Churchill following World War II.  The first Mass of the parish was celebrated on June 12, 1960, in Fierst's Tavern.  After that, until the church was built, Mass was celebrated at the Blackridge Civic Center.  Work on the church began in March of 1962.  The cornerstone of the church was laid on April 6, 1963, and the completed building was dedicated on May 31, 1963.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. John Fisher Church, 2002
        Altar of church, 2002
      • Saint John Neumann (Franklin Park)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint John Neumann (Franklin Park)
        2230 Rochester Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15237-1518
        P: 412-366-2020 | F: 412-366-2866
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 9:30 AM English English 11:30 AM English English
        • MSa 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 9:30 AM to 10:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 4

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Rev. Albin C. McGinnis, Pastor
        Deacon Richard J. Caruso

        Parish History

        St. John Neumann parish was established on July 2, 1979.  The impetus for the parish formation was the growth of the North Hills suburbs of Pittsburgh.  The population increase overwhelmed the capacities of the existing churches, so an additional parish was created.  The first Mass of the new parish was celebrated on July 8, 1979, in the Franklin Park Fire Hall.  For the next three years, the parish celebrated Mass in either the fire hall or in the Heritage United Presbyterian Church.  Ground for the church was broken on September 13, 1981, and the completed church was dedicated on May 23, 1982.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. John Neumann Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint John of God (McKees Rocks)
        McKees Rocks
        X
        Saint John of God (McKees Rocks)
        1011 Church Avenue, McKees Rocks, PA, 15136-3609
        P: 412-771-5646 | F: 412-331-0678
        • Sat: 4:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:45 AM English English
        • MF 9:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:30 PM to 4:15 PM 5:30 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Louis F. Vallone, Pastor
        Rev. Robert J. Zajdel, Parochial Vicar
        Rev. Regis J. Ryan, In Residence
        Deacon Leonard Thomas

        Parish History

        St. John of God was established in March of 1993 as part of the diocese's reorganization and revitalization.  The parish was formed by merging the parishes of Ss. Cyril & Methodius, St. Francis de Sales, St. Maria Goretti, St. Mark, St. Mary Help of Christians and Mother of Sorrows in McKees Rocks and St. Vincent de Paul in Esplen.  The new parish kept three churches open - St. Mark, St. Mary Help of Christians and Mother of Sorrows.  The other church buildings were closed.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Mother of Sorrows Church, 2001
        Mother of Sorrows altar, 2001
        St. Mark Church, 2001
        St. Mark altar, 2001
        St. Mary Help of Christians Church, 2001
        St. Mary Help of Christians altar, 2001
      • Saint John the Baptist (Baden)
        Baden
        X
        Saint John the Baptist (Baden)
        375 Linmore Avenue, Baden, PA, 15005-0171
        Mailing: PO Box 171, Baden, PA, 15005-0171
        P: 724-869-2280 | F: 724-869-0305
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:30 AM English English
        • W F 8:00 AM English English

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Joseph A. Carr, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. John the Baptist was established in 1866.  In that year the first Mass was celebrated in Baden in a private home.  In 1868, land was purchased in Economy Township and work began on a small frame church.  The church was completed the next year.  For the rest of the century the parish was mainly a mission of St. James, Sewickley, although at times it apparently was served from St. Cecilia in Rochester or Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver.  In 1909, a pastor was assigned to the parish.  The pastor was also given the position of Chaplain to the Sisters of St. Joseph in Baden.  The pastor established his residence at the Sisters' Motherhouse.

        Due to the inconvenient location of the church, many members began attending other local churches.  To save the dwindling congregation, the church was abandoned and Mass was shifted to the chapel in the Sisters of St. Joseph Motherhouse.  This arrangement, meant to last for 10 years, actually continued until 1950.  On February 27, 1948, the bishop proposed the building of a new St. John the Baptist Church.  Property was purchased in Baden for the church and on December 5, 1948, ground was broken for the new church.  The cornerstone was laid on May 22, 1949, and the completed building was dedicated on February 12, 1950.

        The church was renovated between the years 1973 to 1975.  Additional changes were made in 1983 and 1990.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. John the Baptist Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 2002
      • Saint John the Baptist (Monaca)
        Monaca
        X
        Saint John the Baptist (Monaca)
        1501 Virginia Avenue, Monaca, PA, 15061-1887
        P: 724-775-3940 | F: 724-775-6886
        • Sat: 5:30 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MW F 8:30 AM English English
        • Thu: 7:00 PM English English
        • Thu: 6:00 PM to 6:45 PM
        • Sat: 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM
        • Thu: 6:00 PM to 6:45 PM
        • Fri: 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM
        Regional Vicariate 3, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. Michael R. Ruffalo, Pastor
        Deacon Anthony J. Giordano

        Parish History

        St. John the Baptist was founded in 1888.  Before that year, Catholics in Monaca (at that time called Phillipsburg) had to travel to either Rochester or Beaver to attend Mass.  To better accommodate these Catholics, work was begun on a church in Monaca in the fall of 1888.  Until 1891, the church was a mission of St. Cecilia in Rochester.  The first resident pastor was assigned to the parish in August of 1891.  The parish had a resident pastor until 1900, when it again became a mission church, this time of Ss. Peter and Paul in Beaver.  In 1907, St. John again was assigned a resident pastor.

        The church served the congregation until 1913.  By that time, the growth of population in the area made the existing building too small to meet the needs of the congregation.  The parish lyceum building, built in 1910, was converted to a church and dedicated on August 3, 1913.  This second church eventually proved inadequate as well.  On May 4, 1930, the cornerstone for a new church was laid and on May 30, 1932, the new church was dedicated.  This church continues to serve the congregation of the parish.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Second St. John the Baptist church, 1913-1932
        Third St. John the Baptist church, 1932
        Interior of second St. John the Baptist church, circa 1925
        Interior of St. John the Baptist, 1932
      • Saint John the Baptist (Unity)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint John the Baptist (Unity)
        444 Saint John Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15239-1396
        P: 412-793-4511 | F: 412-793-4311
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 7:30 AM English English 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MSa 9:00 AM English English
        • Sat: 9:30 AM
        • 1st Fri: 9:45 AM to 8:45 AM on Saturday

        Regional Vicariate 2, District 1

        Afflilated School:

        Saint John the Baptist School

        Clergy:

        Rev. Kevin Poecking, Administrator
        Deacon Joseph R. Vannucci
        Deacon Timothy F. Noca

        Parish History

        St. John the Baptist was established in 1911 as a mission of the Missionary Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (MCCD).  The diocese formed the MCCD to bring religious instruction to Catholics living in small, isolated communities who did not have easy access to an existing church. The first known Mass celebrated in Unity took place on May 12, 1911.  At first, Mass was celebrated in Unity Hall, a public school building.  By the end of 1911, the parish rented a private home for use for Sunday Mass.

        In 1915, the parish became independent with the appointment of a resident pastor on October 25.  The parish continued to use the rented property for Mass while funds were raised for a new church.  Construction of the church began in 1917 and the completed structure was dedicated on July 14, 1918.

        As time went on, the congregation continued to grow.  By the 1960's, plans were drawn up for a new church.  Ground for the church was broken on March 26, 1963.  The first Mass in the new building was celebrated on November 24, 1963, and the church was formally dedicated on January 5, 1964.  The old church was converted to a parish hall, but was eventually torn down.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        First St. John Church, 1933
        Interior of St. John Church, 1933
        St. John Church, 2002
        Interior of St. John, 2002
      • Saint John the Evangelist (Coylesville)
        Fenelton
        X
        Saint John the Evangelist (Coylesville)
        668 Clearfield Road, Fenelton, PA, 16034-9743
        P: 724-287-7590 | F: 724-287-3550
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:45 AM English English
        • M Th 7:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 3:15 PM to 3:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Matthew R. McClain, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. John was founded in 1853.  However, the origin of the parish can be traced back to the arrival of Irish immigrants to Clearfield Township in 1798.  Coylesville itself was not founded until 1830. Until the establishment of St. Patrick parish in Sugar Creek in 1806, the Catholic settlers in Clearfield Township rarely saw a priest.  Once St. Patrick was founded, the pastor of that parish visited the area once a month and celebrated Mass in a private home.  The other weeks of the month, the residents would have to travel to Sugar Creek to attend Mass.

        In 1840, land was purchased for the building of a church.  The construction of that church did not begin until 1853.  On August 15, 1853, the cornerstone for the new church was laid and the church was completed the next year.  In 1855, a resident pastor was assigned to St. John.

        This church continues to serve the local Catholic community to this day.  Over the years, the original church has been remodeled and renovated.  In 1877, the 156 foot tower was added.  In 1895, the roof was rebuilt and the altars were installed.  The church was renovated again in 1943, in 1969 and 1976.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. John church, 1933
        St. John main altar, 1933
      • Saint John XXIII Personal Quasi-Parish (North Side)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint John XXIII Personal Quasi-Parish (North Side)
        2208 East Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        Mailing: 1025 Haslage Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212
        412-434-1651
        • Sun: 8:00 AM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form Low Mass 11:00 AM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form High Mass
        • Mon: 12:00 PM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form Low Mass
        • Tue: 7:00 PM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form Low Mass
        • WSa 9:00 AM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form Low Mass
        • 1st Fri: 7:00 PM Latin Latine Extraordinary Form Low Mass (There is no 9:00 AM on First Fridays)
        • Sun: 7:30 AM Confessions continue until the Sanctus of Mass 10:30 AM Confessions continue until the Sanctus of Mass
        • Tue: 6:00 PM to 6:45 PM
        • 1st Fri: 6:30 PM
        • 1st Sat: 8:30 AM

        Regional Vicariate 1, District 2

        Afflilated School:

        North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools

        Clergy:

        Very Rev. Lawrence A. DiNardo, Co-Pastor and Moderator of Team Ministry
        Rev. James W. Dolan, Co-Pastor of Team Ministry

        Parish History

        Saint John XXIII Personal Quasi-Parish celebrates Mass daily in the Extraordinary form of the Roman Rite – that is, the Traditional Latin (or Tridentine) Mass. Father James W. Dolan is chaplain of the community.

        For further information or if you have questions, please call Father Dolan at 412-434-1651, or send an email to LatinMassQuestions@gmail.com.

      • Saint Joseph (Cabot)
        Cabot
        X
        Saint Joseph (Cabot)
        315 Stoney Hollow Road, Cabot, PA, 16023-9571
        P: 724-352-2149 | F: 724-352-7174
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • MF 9:00 AM English English
        • 1st Fri: 8:30 AM
        • Sat: 11:00 AM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Ward Stakem, OFM Cap, Pastor
        Rev. Mark Pattock, OFM Cap, Parochial Vicar

        Parish History

        St. Joseph was founded in 1904.  Before the parish was established, local Catholics traveled to St. John, Coylesville or St. Mary, Herman.  The founding of the parish was a direct result of the work of Fr. Nicholas Deinlein, a Capuchin Franciscan from St. Mary Monastery in Herman, who convinced the local Catholics of the need for a new parish.  In May 1904, land was purchased for a church and construction began soon after.  The first Mass in the area was held in a private home on September 18, 1904 and the first Mass in the new church was celebrated on December 18, 1904.  The church itself was dedicated on May 31, 1905.  At that time, the church was a mission of St. Mary in Herman.

        Even after the church was dedicated, improvements were needed.  Permanent pews, a church bell and statues were added as funds became available.  In the 1920's a sanctuary was built, a vestibule added and electricity was installed.  In 1930 a basement was added.  In the 1960's the church was extended and a new bell tower and vestibule were added.

        On December 23, 1975, St. John became an independent parish.  By that time, it was obvious that the current church was no longer adequate to meet the needs of the congregation.  On May 15, 1977, ground was broken for a new church.  The completed church was dedicated on August 27, 1978.  This church continues to serve the local community today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Church and bell tower, 1937
        Rear of church, 1937
        Altar, 1937
      • Saint Joseph (Coraopolis)
        Coraopolis
        X
        Saint Joseph (Coraopolis)
        1304 4th Avenue, Coraopolis, PA, 15108-1690
        P: 412-264-6162 | F: 412-264-5370
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:00 AM English English 10:00 AM English English 12:00 PM English English
        • M Tu Th F 8:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Wed: 6:00 PM to 6:30 PM
        • Sat: 3:00 PM to 3:45 PM
        • Wed: 7:00 AM to 6:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 3, District 1

        Clergy:

        Rev. Richard S. Jones, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Joseph parish was established in 1891.  Even before the parish was founded, Mass was celebrated in a private home in Coraopolis in 1889, although generally local Catholics had to travel to Sewickley to attend Mass.  In 1891, the pastor of St. John the Baptist in Monaca established a mission in Coraopolis.  Until a church could be constructed, Mass was celebrated in a commercial building.  Land for a church was purchased in 1894 and the church built in 1897.  In that same year, St. Joseph became an independent parish with the appointment of a resident pastor.

        This church served the parish for three decades.  By the early 1920's, the congregation had outgrown its church.  Work on a new church began in 1923.  The cornerstone was laid on September 14, 1924, and the completed church was dedicated on May 31, 1925.  The old church was used by the Knights of Columbus until it was destroyed in a fire in 1941.

        This church continues to serve the congregation today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Joseph Church, 1933
        St. Joseph Church, 2002
        Interior of church, 1933
      • Saint Joseph (Duquesne)
        Duquesne
        X
        Saint Joseph (Duquesne)
        817 West Grant Avenue, Duquesne, PA, 15110
        Mailing: 32 South 1st Street, Duquesne, PA, 15110
        P: 412-469-0196 | F: 412-466-6845
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English English September-April only

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas J. Lewandowski, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Joseph was founded in 1896 as a German parish.  At that time, the town was known as Germantown or Dutchtown because most of the inhabitants were German immigrants who came there to work in the local coal mines.  Even before the parish was established, the Church had a presence in Duquesne.  In 1869, a chapel, called St. Dominic, was built in the town.  A priest from St. Agnes, West Mifflin, visited the chapel once a week.  At some point, the chapel was also used as a school.

        In 1895, the local German Catholics began organizing to form their own parish.  In that year, they purchased a local school and remodeled it into a combined church and school.  The upper floor was used as the school, and the first floor as the church.  In 1896 a pastor was assigned to the parish and the first Mass in the new church was celebrated on Christmas Day, 1896.

        In 1899, the pastor purchased two acres of ground next to St. Dominic Chapel for a cemetery.  St. Dominic Chapel then became the cemetery chapel.  This building was torn down in the 1960's.

        By the turn of the century, the congregation had outgrown its original church.  The building was physically moved to make room for a new church.  The cornerstone of the new church was laid in 1903 and the completed building was dedicated on August 26, 1904.  The original church was then converted to a school.  When a new school was built in 1909, the first church building was remodeled into two dwellings.  These were eventually torn down in the late 1950's or early 1960's.

        The church was enlarged in 1915 and renovated in 1947 and again in 1962.  The church continues to serve the parish today.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Interior of St. Joseph, 1945
        St. Joseph Church, 2002
      • Saint Joseph (Natrona)
        Natrona Heights
        X
        Saint Joseph (Natrona)
        48 Spruce Street, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        Mailing: 1526 Union Avenue, Natrona Heights, PA, 15065
        P: 724-224-1336 | F: 724-224-3559
        • Sat: 6:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:00 AM English English
        • MF 8:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 5:30 PM to 5:45 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 5

        Clergy:

        Rev. John B. Lendvai, Administrator
        Rev. Aaron J. Kriss, Parochial Vicar
        Deacon Patrick G. Wood

        Parish History

        St. Joseph was founded in 1992 as part of the diocesan reorganization and revitalization process.  The parish was formed by the merger of the three parishes then in Natrona: St. Mathias, St. Ladislaus and St. Joseph.  The new parish retained the name of St. Joseph.  Of the three church buildings, St. Mathias and St. Ladislaus remained open.  St. Joseph Church was closed at the time of merger and was destroyed in a fire on January 30, 2001.  A few years after that, a parish study determined that the parish did not need two churches.  On September 18, 2008 the parish closed St. Mathias Church.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Ladislaus Church, 2002
        Interior of St. Ladislaus, 2002
         
      • Saint Joseph (North Oakland)
        Chicora
        X
        Saint Joseph (North Oakland)
        864 Chicora Road, Chicora, PA, 16025
        Mailing: PO Box 243, Chicora, PA, 16025-0243
        P: 724-445-2275 | F: 724-445-7507
        • Sun: 10:30 AM English English
        • Tu F 11:30 AM English English
        • Sat: 11:45 AM to 12:15 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 2

        Clergy:

        Rev. Richard J. Thompson, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Joseph was founded in 1847.  The origin of the parish can be traced to a petition sent to the bishop on May 6 of that year requesting permission to build a church.  The early history of the parish is not well documented, but it appears that the frame church was built in 1847 and the first Mass was celebrated on Christmas Day of that year.  The congregation at that time consisted both of Irish and Germans.  Mass was celebrated once a month by a German priest from St. Peter, Butler and once a month by an Irish priest from St. Patrick, Sugar Creek and, beginning about 1861, from St. Patrick, Brady's Bend.

        In 1863, the first resident pastor was assigned to St. Joseph. By 1872, the congregation grew to a point that a new, larger church was needed.  Construction of a brick church was begun in that year, about 100 yards from the original church, with the bricks made by members of the congregation on the church grounds.  The completed church was dedicated on June 28, 1874.

        The first two pastors of the parish were able to speak both German and English.  The pastor of St. Joseph at the time the new church was dedicated could only speak English, however.  The German congregation requested permission to form a separate parish using the old church.  The bishop granted permission and on July 18, 1877, the old church was rededicated as St. Joseph (German) Church.

        This church continued to serve the congregation for over a century.  It has been remodeled several times and, in 1954, escaped unscathed a tornado that struck North Oakland.  On January 16, 1966, St. Joseph reunited with St. Joseph (German) parish.  The St. Joseph (German) church was closed and used as a receiving chapel for St. Joseph Cemetery.

        As part of the diocesan-wide Parish Reorganization and Revitalization, a determination was made in 1993 that the parish would be joined with nearby Mater Dolorosa parish in Chicora.  While St. Joseph remains an independent parish, it shares a priest with Mater Dolorosa.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        Front view of church, 1934
        Side view of church, 1934
        Main altar, 1934
        Side altar, 1934
      • Saint Joseph (O'Hara Township)
        Pittsburgh
        X
        Saint Joseph (O'Hara Township)
        342 Dorseyville Road, Pittsburgh, PA, 15215-1040
        P: 412-963-8885 | F: 412-963-1945
        • Sat: 4:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 9:00 AM English English 11:00 AM English English
        • M Tu Th F 9:00 AM English English
        • Wed: 7:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 10:00 AM 3rd Sunday only 12:00 PM 3rd Sunday only
        • Sat: 5:00 PM 3rd Saturday only
        • Wed: 3:00 PM to 7:00 PM

        Regional Vicariate 4, District 6

        Afflilated School:

        Christ the Divine Teacher Catholic Academy (Part of the North Hills Regional Catholic Elementary Schools)

        Clergy:

        Rev. Thomas R. Miller, Pastor

        Parish History

        St. Joseph was founded in 1845 in Sharpsburg.  Little is known of the origins of the parish.  It appears that, beginning in 1843, Sharpsburg was visited monthly from St. Philomena and Mass was celebrated in a private residence.  Before that time, local residents had to travel to Pittsburgh or to Pine Creek to attend Mass.  In 1845, the parish was established.  Work on a small church building began in 1847 and was completed by the end of the year.

        In that year, St. Joseph became a mission of St. Mary Assumption, Pine Creek, although the pastor of St. Mary decided to reside in Sharpsburg.  Within two years, a larger brick church was built to replace the original building.  The cornerstone of this second church was laid on June 25, 1848, and the completed church was dedicated on April 29, 1849.

        The new parish consisted primarily of Irish and German Catholics, with the latter predominating.  In 1852, the Germans formed their own congregation, St. Mary.  Until St. Mary church was built in 1854, they continued to use St. Joseph Church for services.  In 1863, St. Joseph was assigned a resident pastor.

        As the population began growing, the church soon became overcrowded.  In 1873, work began on a new church.  The cornerstone was laid on May 4, 1873, and the church, though not completed, was dedicated on July 19, 1874.  The church was renovated around 1900.

        The church suffered major damage in the flood of March 17, 1936.  For four months, Mass had to be celebrated in the school while the flood damage was being repaired.  The church was again renovated in 1957, including the installation of new altars, confessionals and a baptismal font. 

        On February 29, 1960, a fire destroyed the nearby Madonna of Jerusalem church.  St. Joseph Church was made available to Madonna of Jerusalem parish for Masses.  This disaster brought to a head concerns about the declining population of Sharpsburg.  The city had four churches situated near each other, with St. Joseph being the only territorial parish.  The bishop determined that the Catholic community could best be served by relocating St. Joseph parish.  On July 31, 1960, the bishop announced that the St. Joseph Church would be turned over to Madonna of Jerusalem parish and that a new St. Joseph Church would be built in O'Hara Township.

        The first Mass in the new location was celebrated in a fire hall on August 7, 1960.  A garage was converted into a temporary chapel and the first Mass was celebrated there on September 5, 1960.  On December 10, 1960, ground was broken for a combined church/school building.  The school opened on September 5, 1961 and the building was dedicated on October 31, 1961.  The church was renovated in the mid 1980's.

        After the turn of the 21st century, the congregation began to outgrow its church.  On May 25, 2008, the parish broke ground for a new church.  The completed building, which housed both the church and and a parish hall was dedicated on October 18, 2009.

        Photos From the Diocesan Archive:

        St. Joseph Church, 2001
        Interior St. Joseph, 2001
        Ground breaking for the new St. Joseph Church, May 25, 2008
      • Saint Joseph (Verona)
        Verona
        X
        Saint Joseph (Verona)
        825 Second Street, Verona, PA, 15147-1498
        P: 412-795-5114 | F: 412-828-1236
        • Sat: 5:00 PM English English
        • Sun: 8:30 AM English<